Рус  |   Eng  |   中文
The Far Eastern Federal District
The Privolzhsky Federal District
The North-Western Federal District
The Siberian Federal District
The Ural Federal District
The Central Federal District
The Southern Federal District
 

Gorno-Altaisk

The CathedralGorno-AltaiskGorno-AltaiskGorno-Altaisk

The Subject of the Russian Federation:
Republic of Altai

Federal District: The Siberian Federal District

Area: 95,5 km2
Population: 56 000 persons.


Description

Gorno-Altaisk — a city in the south of the Western Siberia, the administrative center of the Republic of Altai. This is the only city and capital of the Altai Republic. During its not so long history the name was changed three times: Ulala, Oyrot-Tura, Gorno-Altaisk .

It was founded in 1830 and became a city in 1928.

Population: 56 000 people (2010).

Area — 95.5 km².

History

History of the city dates back to the beginning of the XIX century - then there was a small settlement of the Teleuts on the place of modern Gorno-Altaisk. In 1824 first Russian settlers from Biysk moved there and founded the village of Ulala.

In 1831 missionaries and priests gathered in Ulala. Later some Biysk merchants moved to the village. For several decades Ulala transformed into a major shopping center of the Biysk district of Tomsk province.

After the revolution in 1917 and the Civil War, the Soviet government decided to form the Oyrotsky Autonomous Oblast. According to the Decree of the Central Executive Committee, dated June 2, 1922, the village of Ulala became the administrative center of the new region. 6 years later on the 27th of February, 1928 the settlement got a status of city.

During next two decades Ulala changed its name several times. On the 23rd of June, 1932 the city renamed in the city of Oyrot Tura (nomad camp of the Oyrots, the Oyrots — one of original names of the Altaians), and on the 7th of January, 1948 the Oyrotsky Autonomous Oblast was renamed in the Gorno-Altai one, the city Oyrot Tura – in Gorno-Altaisk.

On the 7th of May, 1992 a final name of the Republic of Altai was received, in the same year the city of Gorno-Altaisk acquired the status of the capital of the Republic of Altai.

Geographical position

Gorno-Altaisk is situated in the north-western part of the Republic of Altai in the intermountain basin among the chain of low mountains at the height of 270-305 meters above sea level at the confluence of two small rivers - Ulalushki and Maimy, which in turn flow into the great mountain Katun River. The distance from Gorno-Altaisk to Moscow is 3 641 km.

Transportation

The main passenger transports in Gorno-Altaisk are buses and taxis. There are 31 urban and suburban routes in the existing network of regular passenger transportation.

Air traffic is realized through the airport "Gorno-Altaisk". The airport is located 6 miles west from the city center.

Industry

The basic industry of Gorno-Altaisk is livestock and agriculture. Production of building materials is developed.

Attractions

  • Anokhin Republican Historical Museum
  • National Theatre
  • Ulalinskaya Site of Early Man

Famous People

Grigory Gurkin (1870 – 1937) — an Altai artist, a disciple of I.I. Shishkin

Рус  |   Eng  |   中文
Дальневосточный федеральный округ
Приволжский федеральный округ
Северо-Западный федеральный округ
Сибирский федеральный округ
Уральский федеральный округ
Центральный федеральный округ
Южный федеральный округ
 

Горно-Алтайск

ХрамГорно-АлтайскГорно-АлтайскГорно-АлтайскВедется строительство нового корпуса музеяГорно-АлтайскМихаил Яковлевич ГлухаревЦерковь

Субъект Российской Федерации:
Республика Алтай

Федеральный округ: Сибирский федеральный округ

Площадь: 95,5 км2
Население: 56 000 чел.


Описание

Горно-Алтайск — горный город на юге Западной Сибири, административный центр Республики Алтай. Это единственный город и столица Республики Алтай. За свою недолгую историю город успел сменить три раза свое название: Улала, Ойрот-Тура, Горно-Алтайск.

Основан в 1830 году. Город с 1928 года. .

Население: 56,0 тыс. чел. (2010).

Площадь: 95,5 км².

История

История города восходит к началу XIX века — тогда на месте современного Горно-Алтайска находилось небольшое поселение телеутов. В 1824 году из Бийска сюда переехали первые русские поселенцы и основали село Улала. В 1831 году в Улале собираются миссионеры и священнослужители. Позднее в село переезжают и некоторые бийские купцы. За несколько десятилетий Улала превращается в крупный торговый центр Бийского уезда Томской губернии.

После революции 1917 года и Гражданской войны, советское правительство принимает решение об образовании Ойротской автономной области. Декрет ВЦИК от 2 июня 1922 года делает административным центром нового региона — село Улала. Через 6 лет, 27 февраля 1928 года поселение получает городской статус.

В последующие два десятилетия Улала несколько раз меняла название. 23 июня 1932 года город переименован в город Ойрот-Тура («стойбище ойротов», ойроты — одно из самоназваний алтайцев), а 7 января 1948 года Ойротская автономная область была переименована в Горно-Алтайскую, город Ойрот-Тура — в Горно-Алтайск.

7 мая 1992 года получено окончательное название Республика Алтай, в том же году город Горно-Алтайск приобрел статус столицы Республики Алтай.

Географическое положение

Город Горно-Алтайск расположен в северо-западной части Республики Алтай в межгорной котловине среди цепи невысоких гор на высоте 270—305 метров над уровнем моря на месте слияния двух небольших рек — Улалушки и Маймы, которые в свою очередь впадают в большую горную реку Катунь. Расстояние от Горно-Алтайска до Москвы — 3 641 км.

Транспорт

Основным пассажирским транспортом в Горно-Алтайске являются автобусы и маршрутные такси. Существующая сеть регулярных пассажирских перевозок включает 31 маршрут городского и пригородного сообщения.

Воздушное сообщение осуществляется через аэропорт «Горно-Алтайск». Аэропорт находится в 6 км к западу от центра.

Промышленность

Основной отраслью промышленности Горно-Алтайска является животноводство и сельское хозяйство. Развито производство строительных материалов.

Достопримечательности

  • Республиканский краеведческий музей имени А. В. Анохина
  • Национальный театр
  • Улалинская стоянка древнего человека

Известные люди

  • Григорий Гуркин (1870—1937)— алтайский художник, ученик И. И. Шишкина