Рус  |   Eng  |   中文
The Far Eastern Federal District
The Privolzhsky Federal District
The North-Western Federal District
The Siberian Federal District
The Ural Federal District
The Central Federal District
The Southern Federal District
 

Kazan

Main building of KSUKazanPalace of farmersKazan City Hall

The Subject of the Russian Federation:
Republic of Tatarstan

Federal District: The Privolzhsky Federal District

Area: 613 km2
Population: 1 138 823 persons.


Description

Subject of the Russian Federation:

Republic of Tatarstan (Tatarstan)

Federal District: Volga Federal District

Total area: 613 km2

Population: 1,138,823.

Description

Kazan is a city of the Russian Federation, the capital of the Republic of Tatarstan, the largest city of the Volga economic region. The Kazan Kremlin which is a World Heritage Site and a millenarian history make Kazan one of the most visited cities of Russia and the world. The city brands itself as the "Third Capital" of Russia.

Founded in 1005.

The population is approximately 1.2 mln people.

History

Kazan was founded as an outpost at the northern boundaries of Volgian Bulgaria. After the Tatar Invasion, the territory of Volgian Bulgaria was incorporated into the state of the Golden Horde established by the Tatars.

In the XIII-XIV centuries Kazan grew and became an important commercial and political centre of the Golden Horde. The advantageous geographical position on the crossing of big trade routes connecting the East with the West favoured the growth of the city.

Kazan was being mentioned in the Russian chronicles since XIV-XV centuries.

In 1438, with the collapse of the Golden Horde, the city was proclaimed the capital of the Khanate of Kazan. The conflicts with Muscovy ongoing from the times of Volgian Bulgaria (IX-X centuries) after two unsuccessful attempts led to the seizure of Kazan by the troops of Ivan the Terrible in 1552 with further destruction of the greater part of the city and massacre of the majority of the population.

In 1556 the construction of a new white-stone Kremlin was begun, 7 thousand Russians were moved into the abandoned city. By order of Ivan the Terrible the entire settlements were moved there from different cities of Russia. In 1708 Kazan became the capital city of the Kazan Governorate. From the 1660s the city design was regulated, there appeared the first wooden pavements and bridges over Bulak and Kazanka. The city became an educational and cultural centre of the Volga region: in 1758 the first provincial gymnasia in Russia, in 1771 - the first madrasah, and in 1791 the first permanent theatre were opened in Kazan. The establishment of Kazan University in 1804 - the third in Russia - was an important event.

The city faced a great shock in the XX century. Kazan became one of the revolutionary centres, in 1918, during the Civil War, it was the focal point of heavy fighting.

On 27 December 1920 the Decree on the establishment of the Tatar Autonomous Socialist Soviet Republic with its capital in Kazan was passed. During the Great Patriotic War large plants were evacuated to Kazan (including Moscow Aircraft Factory named after S. P. Gorbunov, Voronezh Engine-Building Works).

In the 1990s Kazan became one of the financial and political centres of the country.

Industry

The industrial complex of Kazan is represented by the machine-building, chemical and petrochemical branches, light and food industry.

Transport

Trolleybus is the most popular public transportation means. There function 91 bus services with the total mileage of 1918 km. After the adoption of a new bus traffic plan the minibus taxis (mostly presented by the ПАЗ make of car) were abolished.

An Automatic Fare Collection based on a single chip card functions at all modes of transportation.

Kazan metropolitan as of 2010 comprises the Central line with the total mileage of 8.4 km and 6 stations. The working hours are from 6 a.m. till 11 p.m., the minimum headway between consecutive trains is 7 minutes. The fare system presupposes the usage of chip coins and chip cards.

A federal highway Volga (M7 E 22 Moscow - Vladimir - Nizhny Novgorod - Kazan - Ufa) and other federal highways run thought the city:

  • P241 Kazan - Buinsk - Ulyanovsk
  • P239 Kazan - Orenburg
  • P242 Kazan - Arsk - Malmyzh - Kilmez - Igra

Bus services connect Kazan with all the cities of the Republic of Tatarstan and with the neighbouring republics and oblasts as well. Kazansky Railway Terminal serves 36 pairs of trains including 13 of local form.

Moreover, there are 19 railway stations and roadside stops within the city: VRD (ВРД), Yudino, New Arakchino, Old Arakchino, Lagernaya, Admiralty Sloboda, Vakhitovo, Ametievo, Ometievo, Novatorov, Kompressorny, Derbyshki, "804 km", "807 km", Kinderi, "787 km", Levchenko, Bosstanie, "793 km", "795 km".

The main end points of Kazan electrical trains are Nizhny Novgorod, Kanash, Arsk, Vyatskie Polyany, Izhevsk, Volzhsk, Zeleny Dol. There are also diesel-powered trains and road-rail buses to Buinsk (Bua Station) and Yoshkar-Ola. The international airport "Kazan" serves flights in 39 directions including 14 foreign ones.

The riverside station serves the passengers of inter-city cruise ships as well as suburban lines - to Kamskoe Ustye (the estuary of the Kama), Tetyushi, Bolgar, Pechishchi, Sviyazhsk, and Sadovaya.

Sights

  • Kazan Kremlin ensemble
  • Baumana Street
  • Volga Federal University
  • Old-Tatar Sloboda territory
  • Peter-and-Paul's Cathedral

Emergency Phones

Unified rescue service - 01

EMERCOM Police — 02

Medical Ambulance — 03

Gas Leaks — 04

Unified rescue service - 09

Acquisition Sources for Regional Tourist Opportunities

Ministry of the Republic of Tatarstan for Youth Affairs, Sport and Tourism:

Kazan, Peterburgskaya St., 12

Telephone: (843) 222-8101, (843) 222-8179

tat.tourism@tatar.ru

www.mdmst.tatar.ru

Committee of External Communications and Tourism of Kazan Executive Committee:

Kazan, Kremlyovskaya St., 2 A

Telephone: (843) 292-6092, (843) 292-6121 Fax: (843) 292-9672

kvst1@rambler.ru

Tourism information centre in Kazan:

Kazan, Kremlyovskaya St., 15/25

Telephone: (843) 292-9777 Fax: (843) 292-3010

infocentre@inbox.ru

www.gokazan.com

Рус  |   Eng  |   中文
Дальневосточный федеральный округ
Приволжский федеральный округ
Северо-Западный федеральный округ
Сибирский федеральный округ
Уральский федеральный округ
Центральный федеральный округ
Южный федеральный округ
 

Казань

Главное здание КГУКазаньДворец земледельцевКазанская ратушаКазаньКазаньКазаньКазаньКазаньКазаньКазаньКазаньКазаньБаскет-холлМиражОграда парка ПетербургскаяПетропавловский соборСтаро-татараская слободаТуган авылымКазаньКазаньКазаньКазаньКазанский КремльКазанский КремльКазанский КремльКазанский КремльКазанский Кремль

Субъект Российской Федерации:
Республика Татарстан (Татарстан)

Федеральный округ: Приволжский федеральный округ

Площадь: 613 км2
Население: 1 138 823 чел.


Описание

Казань — город в Российской Федерации, столица Республики Татарстан, самый крупный город Поволжского экономического района. Казанский кремль, входящий в число объектов Всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО, и тысячелетняя история делают Казань одним из наиболее посещаемых туристами городов России и мира. Город имеет зарегистрированный бренд «третья столица России».

Основан в 1005 году.

Население составляет порядка 1, 2 млн человек.

История

Казань была основана как форпост на северных границах Волжской Булгарии. После захвата татаро-монголами территория Волжской Булгарии включается в основанное татаро-монголами государство — Золотую Орду.

В XIII—XIV веках Казань переживает рост, становится важным торговым и политическим центром в составе Золотой Орды. Росту города способствует и удачное географическое положение на пересечении крупных торговых путей, соединяющих Восток и Запад.

В русских летописях Казань начинает упоминаться с XIV—XV веков.

В 1438 г., с распадом Золотой орды, город провозглашён столицей Казанского ханства. Продолжающиеся со времён Волжской Булгарии (IX—X века) конфликты с Московским княжеством привели, после двух неудачных попыток, к взятию Казани войсками Ивана Грозного в 1552, с последующим разрушением большей части города и уничтожением населения.

В 1556 г. началось строительство нового, белокаменного Кремля, в опустевший город вселили 7 тысяч русских, которых по приказу Ивана Грозного переселяли целыми слободами из разных русских городов. В 1708 г. Казань стала столицей крупной Казанской губернии. С 60-х годов XVIII века застройка города принимает упорядоченный характер, появились деревянные мостовые, мосты через Булак и Казанку. Город стал образовательным и культурным центром Поволжья: в 1758 г. в Казани открылась первая в России провинциальная гимназия, в 1771 — первые медресе, в 1791 появился постоянный театр. Важным событием стало учреждение в 1804 Казанского университета — третьего в России.

В XX веке город ожидали большие потрясения. Казань стала одним из центров революции, в 1918 г. за город в ходе гражданской войны велись ожесточённые бои.

27 декабря 1920 года был подписан Декрет об образовании Автономной Татарской Социалистической Советской Республики со столицей в Казани.

В годы Великой Отечественной войны в Казань были эвакуированы крупные заводы (в том числе Московский авиазавод имени С. П. Горбунова, Воронежский моторостроительный завод).

В 1990-е годы Казани удалось стать одним из финансовых и политических центров страны.

Промышленность

Промышленный комплекс Казани представлен машиностроительной, химической и нефтехимической отраслями, легкой и пищевой промышленностью.

Транспорт

Самым популярным видом общественного транспорта является троллейбус. Работает 91 автобусный маршрут суммарной протяжённостью 1918 км. После внедрения новой схемы движения автобусов были отменены все маршрутные такси, которые были в основной своей массе представлены маркой ПАЗ.

На всех видах транспорта работает автоматизированная система оплаты проезда, основанная на единой смарт-карте.

Казанский метрополитен по состоянию на 2010 год состоит из Центральной линии, длиной 8,4 км и имеющей 6 станций. Режим работы — с 6 до 23 часов, минимальный интервал между поездами составляет 7 минут. Для оплаты проезда используются смарт-жетоны и смарт-карты.

Через город проходит федеральная автомагистраль «Волга» (M7 E 22 Москва — Владимир — Нижний Новгород — Казань — Уфа) и другие федеральные трассы:

  • Р241 Казань — Буинск — Ульяновск
  • Р239 Казань — Оренбург
  • Р242 Казань — Арск — Малмыж — Кильмезь — Игра

Казань связана автобусными сообщениями со всеми городами Республики Татарстан, а также с соседними республиками и областями. Казанский железнодорожный вокзал обслуживает 36 пар поездов, в том числе 13 — местного формирования.

Кроме того, в черте города находятся также 19 железнодорожных станций и остановочных платформ: ВРД, Юдино, Новое Аракчино, Старое Аракчино, Лагерная, Адмиралтейская слобода, Вахитово, м. Аметьево, Ометьево, Новаторов, Компрессорный, Дербышки, «804 км», «807 км», Киндери, «787 км», Левченко, Восстание, «793 км», «795 км».

Основными конечными пунктами казанских электропоездов являются Нижний Новгород, Канаш, Арск, Вятские Поляны, Ижевск, Волжск, Зелёный Дол. Имеются так же дизельные поезда и рельсовые автобусы до Буинска (ст. Буа) и Йошкар-Олы. Из международного аэропорта «Казань» выполняются рейсы по 39 направлениям, в том числе 14 заграничных.

Речной вокзал обслуживает как пассажиров междугородних круизных судов, так и пригородные направления — до Камского Устья, Тетюш, Болгар, Печищ, Свияжска и Садовой.

Достопримечательности

  • Ансамбль Казанского кремля
  • Улица Баумана
  • Приволжский Федеральный университет
  • Территория Старо-татарской слободы
  •  Петропавловский собор

Телефоны для связи в экстренных случаях

Единая служба спасения — 01

МЧС Полиция — 02

Скорая медицинская помощь — 03

Горгаз — 04

Справочная служба ГТС — 09

Источники получения информации о туристских возможностях региона

Министерство по делам молодежи, спорту и туризму Республики Татарстан:

г.Казань, ул. Петербургская, д. 12

Телефон: (843) 222-8101, (843) 222-8179

tat.tourism@tatar.ru

www.mdmst.tatar.ru

Комитет внешних связей и туризма Исполнительного комитета города Казани:

г. Казань, ул. Кремлевская, д. 2 А

Телефон: (843) 292-6092, (843) 292-6121 Факс: (843) 292-9672

kvst1@rambler.ru

Туристско-информационный центр города Казани:

г. Казань, ул. Кремлевская, д. 15/25

Телефон: (843) 292-9777 Факс: (843) 292-3010

infocentre@inbox.ru

www.gokazan.com