Рус  |   Eng  |   中文
The Far Eastern Federal District
The Privolzhsky Federal District
The North-Western Federal District
The Siberian Federal District
The Ural Federal District
The Central Federal District
The Southern Federal District
 

Makhachkala

MakhachkalaMakhachkalaFighting Glory MuseumMakhachkala

The Subject of the Russian Federation:
Republic of Daghestan

Federal District: The Southern Federal District

Area: 468 km2
Population: 468 700 persons.


Description

Makhachkala is the capital of the Republic of Dagestan, the southern city of Russia famous for its fruitful lands and beauty of the mountain regions. Special atmosphere of relax is created by the warm climate of its place. It was founded in 1844 and became a city in 1857.

In 2010 the population of the city was 468,7 thousand people.

Area of the city: 468 km².

History

Makhachkala is situated on the narrow strip of the low plains of the western coast of Caspian Sea between the Tarki-Tau Mountain and the sea which was called «the corridor of Dagestan» long time ago. Tarki village located on the territory of modern Makhachkala played a significant role in the history of struggle for this corridor. Since XV century Tarki was already known as a commercial center though which many caravan routes passed to the city of Derbent, one of the oldest cities in the world.  

The modern city of Makhachkala was founded in 1844 when Petrovskoe fortification was laid on the hill of Angie-Arch; it got its name in commemoration of Peter I who stayed in these places (in 1722 the tsar stayed there during the Persian campaign). The creation of military fortification symbolized the beginning of a city construction and on October 24, 1857 the Petrovskoe fortification got the status of a city of Petrovsk. Starting this date the modern Makhachkala celebrated its birthday. On May 14, 1921 Makhachkala got its name in the memory of Makhach Dakhadaev, one of the organizers of struggle for Soviet power in Dagestan. Later the city of Makhachkala became the capital of Dagestan Autonomous Soviet Socialistic Republic in accordance with the order of Revolutionary Committee of Dagestan.

At the end of the XIX and the beginning of XX century an intensive development of the city took place. The railway Rostov — Baku, which allowed the trained to arrive till Port-Petrovsk was finally built. By 1897 the population of the city increased in more in than four times and exceeded 8,7 thousand people.

Fishing and fish processing received a considerable development. Fisheries producing a large number of valuable herring, sturgeon and salmon fishes started to appear close to the city. In the XX century millions of tons of herring were produced; the smoked sturgeon and caviar of sturgeon species gained the worldwide fame.

During the Soviet period the capital of Dagestan was rapidly developed, from the 30s till 80s the population increased in more than 10 times; the main social infrastructure, modern system of education and basic sectors of industry appeared at that time.

Industry

Recently the industrial factories of the city specializing in military production, forestry, metal processing, electronic, fish processing and other products increased their production in more than 5 times.

Nowadays manufacturing of furniture and construction materials is growing very fast.

Transport

Railway stations

  • Makhachkala-1-sorting
  • Makhachkala-2-port
  • Station on the North-Caucasian railway

Itineries

  • MoscowMakhachkala
  • MakhachkalaSaint-Petersburg
  • MakhachkalaBaku
  • AstrakhanMakhachkala
  • MoscowBaku
  • BakuSaint-Petersburg
  • BakuKiev
  • BakuTyumen
  • MakhachkalaDerbent
  • MakhachkalaKhasaviurt

Urban itineries

  • 3 trolley buses
  • Shuttle taxis (more common)

Uytash airport and sea port are active.

Sightseeings

  • Central (Juma) mosque of Makhachkala
  • Cathedral mosque of Makhachkala
  • Cathedral of Holy Assumption
  • First mounds of Makhachkala
  • Theatre of Music and Drama  

Emergency telephone numbers

  • Fire service — 01
  • Police — 02
  • Ambulance — 03
  • EMERCOM rescue service — (8722) 67-1494
  • Traffic Police emergency call — (8722) 67-2708
  • MIA service  — (8722) 68-2728 Д
  • OMON service — (8722) 64-7154
  • ATC service — (8722) 68-2669
  • FSS service — (8722) 67-5223

Sources of touristic information

www.dagtourism.com

www.alldagestan.ru

www.chindirchero.ru

www.hotel-m.ru

Рус  |   Eng  |   中文
Дальневосточный федеральный округ
Приволжский федеральный округ
Северо-Западный федеральный округ
Сибирский федеральный округ
Уральский федеральный округ
Центральный федеральный округ
Южный федеральный округ
 

Махачкала

МахачкалаМахачкалаМузей Боевой СлавыМахачкалаМахачкалаМахачкалаМахачкалаМахачкалаМахачкалаМахачкалаМахачкалаМахачкалаМахачкалаМахачкалаМахачкалаМахачкалаМахачкала

Субъект Российской Федерации:
Республика Дагестан

Федеральный округ: Южный федеральный округ

Площадь: 468 км2
Население: 468 700 чел.


Описание

Махачкала — столица Республики Дагестан, южный город России, известный плодородным богатством земли и красотой горных районов. Теплый климат этих мест создает особую атмосферу отдыха. Основан в 1844 году. Город с 1857 года.

Численность населения в 2010 году составила 468,7 тыс. чел.

Площадь города: 468 км².

История

Махачкала расположена на узкой полосе низменной равнины западного побережья Каспийского моря между горой Тарки-Тау и морем, которая в далеком прошлом называлась «дагестанским коридором». Немаловажную роль в истории борьбы за обладание этим коридором сыграл Тарки-аул, расположенный на территории современной Махачкалы. Тарки был известен уже с XV века как торговый центр, через который проходил караванный путь на город Дербент — один из древнейших городов мира.

Современный город Махачкала берет отсчет с 1844 года, когда на холмистом взгорье Анджи-Арка было заложено укрепление Петровское, названное так в память о пребывании в этих местах Петра I (в 1722 году он здесь останавливался во время Персидского похода). Создание военного укрепления положило начало строительству на этом месте города, и 24 октября 1857 года укрепление Петровское было преобразовано в город Петровск, что явилось днем рождения современной Махачкалы. Свое название Махачкала получила 14 мая 1921 года в память об одном из организаторов борьбы за советскую власть в Дагестане — Махаче Дахадаеве. Позже приказом Дагестанского революционного комитета Махачкала стала столицей Дагестанской Автономной Советской Социалистической Республики.

В конце XIX и начале XX веков началось интенсивное развитие города. Построена железная дорога Ростов — Баку, по которой было открыто движение поездов до Порт-Петровска. К 1897 году население города увеличилось более чем в четыре раза и превышало 8,7 тыс. человек.

Значительное развитие получает добыча и обработка рыбы. Вблизи города начинают создаваться рыбные промыслы, на которых добывается большое количество ценнейших сельдевых, осетровых, лососевых пород. В XX веке добывали миллионы пудов сельди, мировую славу завоевали балыки, икра осетровых пород рыб.

В советское время столица Дагестана ускоренно развивалась, с 30-х по 80-е годы численность населения возросла более чем в 10 раз, были созданы основная социальная инфраструктура, современная система образования и базовые отрасли промышленности.

Промышленность

Промышленные предприятия города, специализирующиеся на выпуске оборонной, лесной, металлоперерабатывающей, электронной, рыбоперерабатывающей и другой продукции за последние годы увеличили производство более чем в 5 раз.

В настоящее время высокими темпами развивается производство мебели, строительных материалов.

Транспорт

Железнодорожные станции

  • Махачкала-1-сортировочная
  • Махачкала-2-порт
  • Вокзал на Северо-Кавказской железной дороге

Маршруты

  • Москва—Махачкала
  • Махачкала—Санкт-Петербург 
  • Махачкала—Баку
  • Астрахань—Махачкала
  • Москва—Баку
  • Баку—Санкт-Петербург
  • Баку—Киев
  • Баку—Тюмень
  • Махачкала—Дербент
  • Махачкала—Хасавюрт

Внутригородской

  • 3 троллейбусных маршрута
  • Маршрутное такси (наиболее распростр.)

Действует аэропорт Уйташ и морской торговый порт.

Достопримечательности

  • Центральная (Джума) мечеть Махачкалы
  • Соборная мечеть Махачкалы
  • Свято-Успенский кафедральный собор
  • Махачкалинские 1-е курганы
  • Здание Музыкально-драматического театра

Телефоны для связи в экстренных случаях

  • Пожарная охрана — 01
  • Полиция — 02
  • Скорая медицинская помощь — 03
  • Служба спасения МЧС — (8722) 67-1494
  • Срочный вызов ГИБДД — (8722) 67-2708
  • Дежурный МВД — (8722) 68-2728 Д
  • ежурный ОМОН — (8722) 64-7154
  • Дежурный УВД — (8722) 68-2669
  • Дежурный ФСБ — (8722) 67-5223

Источники получения информации о туристских возможностях региона

www.dagtourism.com

www.alldagestan.ru

www.chindirchero.ru

www.hotel-m.ru