Рус  |   Eng  |   中文
The Far Eastern Federal District
The Privolzhsky Federal District
The North-Western Federal District
The Siberian Federal District
The Ural Federal District
The Central Federal District
The Southern Federal District
 

Syktyvkar

SyktyvkarGrieving warriorSyktSUSyktyvkar Forest Institute

The Subject of the Russian Federation:
Komi Republic

Federal District: The North-Western Federal District

Area: 152 km2
Population: 235 845 persons.


Description

Syktyvkar -a city in Russia, the capital of the Komi Republic.

Founded in 1780.

Population of Syktyvkar numbers 240,000.

The area of the city is 152 sq. km.

History

Syktyvkar was founded in the place, where  the Sysola joins the Vychegda. People have been living near the modern Syktyvkar since ancient times. In the III—II millennia BC there were settlements in the area between the modern Ozel village and the village of Sedkyrkesch.

The history of Syktyvkar itself began in the 16th century, when the resident population appeared there. The first reference of Syktyvkar is contained in sotnaya of cadastres of 1586: «The graveyard on the river of Ust-Sysol». Here there was a log-built church with 3 households of sacristans alongside and 6 peasant households located randomly.

Since 1775, the reform of local government took place in Russia . In 1780, from the Yarenskoy uyezd a new uyezd was allocated — Ust-Sysolsk.

On 25 January  1780 by edict of Catherine the Great the village of Ust-Sysola was reorganized into the city of Ust-Sysolsk, which became a district center.

On 10 September  1780 in the house of merchant Sukhanov in the presence of provincial officials from Vologda a ceremonial "opening" of the new city was held.

On 2 October 1780 arms of Ust-Sysolsk was created with depiction of a bear lying in a den in the bottom part (“as a token that there is a plenty of such beasts in the neighborhood of this city”) and arms of the vicegerency of Vologda in the upper part.

In 1783, an Ust-Sysolsk development plan was worked out in Petersburg. Under this plan the following cities were joined to the city: Vichkodor, Podgorye, Kirul, Kokulkar, Mikulsikt, Izkar. In the 19th century Paris was added.

In 1795, there were 1753 of merchants and commoners in Ust-Sysolsk. In 1833, there were 487 of households, 2390 of people, “with the most part of them being zyryane”. In 1926, there were 2729 of houses, 8420 of people in the center and suburbs (including a new village of Lesozavod). In 1773, they began to build a single-storey stone Pokrovskaya church, which was consecrated in 1740. In 1792, on the second storey of this building the construction of Spasskaya church started; it was consecrated in 1808.

In 1753-1768, a stone Trinity church was built next to it. Later a belltower was attaché to in. All together they composed the Trinity cathedral on the bank of the Sysola river. In 1820, the church of the Ascension was built in Kirul. In 1856-1882, the cathedral of Stefan was raised, its lower church functioned upward 1883. In 1896, the upper church on the second storey was consecrated.

The first educational institution of the city was built in 1822. It was the Trinity cathedral faith and parochial school. In 1872, the Ust-Sysolsk religious school was set. In October 1890, the school got a new stone double-storey building (a project of Fyodorov, architect of Vologda).

In 1897, Ust-Sysolsk was the fourth most populous city among 12 cities of the vicegerency of Volgorod. Here and in suburbs were 924 of households, 4464 of people and 523 of people lived in the Slobodskoye village.

In 1921, Ust-Sysolsk became the center of the Komi Autonomous Region. In 1924,the administration of the region proposed to rename Ust-Sysolsk into  Vladimir-Lenin, but this idea was never realized. On 26 March 1930 the sity was renamed in Syktyvkar ("the City on the Sysola"). The local population had not used the official name before, but prefer to say just "Kar" (city). On 5 December 1936 Syktyvkar became the capital of the Komi ASSR(later — the Komi Republic).

In 1931, the Komi pedagogical workers' faculty was established in Syktyvkar; in 1932 it became the Komi State Pedagogical University. In 1941, the Base of the Academy of Science of USSR for the Study of the North was set; in 1949, it was reorganized into the Komy branch of the Academy of Science. In 1972, the Syktyvkar State University was founded.

In 1989, the population of Syktyvkar amounted 242,000, where 225,800 of people lived in the city (including 57,600 of people living in Ezhvinskiy district), 4,300 – in Verkhnaya Maksakovka, 289 – in Verkhniy Martiyu, 690 – in Vyltydor, 9,100 – in Krasnozatonskiy, 2,412 – Sedkhyrkesh, 491 – in Tryokhozyorka. In the early 2000 there were 229,300 of resident population in the city.

Industry

The key industries in Syktyvkar are forestry, wood and paper industries – their share is more than 62% of output.

Transportation

The main intraurban transport includes buses, minibuses and taxis.

There is a railway station “Syktyvkar”, a railway terminal ”Chovyu” (industrial hub), a passenger platform “Ezhva” and a railway terminal "Coity", as well as an airport. At the moment, a new airport is building in the town of Sokolovka 30 km from the city.

There is a bus station, from where routes run to the cities of Kirov, Ufa, Ulyanovsk, Naberezhnye Chelny, Cheboksary, Yoshkar-Ola, Kazan, Perm.

Sightseeing

  • Cathedral of Saint Stefan
  • Fire-observation tower
  • Museum devoted to the Olympic champion R. P. Smetanina.
  • the Komi national gallery
  • the Komi national museum

Information sources on tourist resources of the region

Ministry of Economic Development of the Komi Republic — www.econom.rkomi.ru

Tourism development department of the Ministry of Economic Development of the Komi Republic  www.tourism-komi.ru

www.visitkomi.ru

Territorial authorities of the MES of Russia

Chief Directorate of the MES of Russia for the Komi Republic:

9 Sovetskaya st., Syktyvkar

Telephones: (8212) 44-7215 — duty officer

(8212) 28-5910 — reception

(8212) 28-5939 — press-service

Рус  |   Eng  |   中文
Дальневосточный федеральный округ
Приволжский федеральный округ
Северо-Западный федеральный округ
Сибирский федеральный округ
Уральский федеральный округ
Центральный федеральный округ
Южный федеральный округ
 

Сыктывкар

СыктывкарДом-музей олимпийской чемпионки Раисы СметанинойСкорбящий воинСыктГУСыктывкарский лесной институтПожарная каланчаСвято-стефановский кафедральный соборСвято-стефановский кафедральный соборСыктывкарДом-музей олимпийской чемпионки Раисы СметанинойДом-музей олимпийской чемпионки Раисы СметанинойНациональная галереяНациональная галереяФинно-угорский этнокультурный паркФинно-угорский этнокультурный парк

Субъект Российской Федерации:
Республика Коми

Федеральный округ: Северо-Западный федеральный округ

Площадь: 152 км2
Население: 235 845 чел.


Описание

Сыктывкар — город в России, столица Республики Коми.

Основан в 1780 году.

Население г. Сыктывкара порядка 240 тыс. человек.

Площадь города: 152 км².

История

Сыктывкар был основан на месте при впадении Сысолы в Вычегду. Люди жили близ современного Сыктывкара с давних времен. В III—II тысячелетиях до н.э. существовали поселения в районе между современными селом Озел и поселком Седкыркещ.

История самого же Сыктывкара началась в XVI в., когда здесь появилось постоянное население. Первое упоминание о Сыктывкаре содержится в сотной из писцовой книги 1586: «Погост на усть Сысоле реке». Здесь располагались деревянная церковь, рядом с ней — 3 двора церковнослужителей, и в «врозни» (вразброс) — 6 крестьянских дворов.

С 1775 года в России началась реформа местного управления. В 1780 из состава Яренского уезда был выделен новый уезд — Усть-Сысольский.

25 января (5 февраля) 1780 село Усть-Сысола именным указом Екатерины II было преобразовано в город Усть-Сысольск, ставший уездным центром.

10 сентября 1780 в доме купца Суханова в присутствии губернских чиновников из Вологды состоялось торжественное «открытие» нового города.

2 октября 1780 был учрежден герб Усть-Сысольска c изображением в нижней половине медведя лежащего в берлоге («в знак того, что такого рода зверей в окрестностях сего города находится довольно», а в верхней половине герба находился герб Вологодского наместничества).

В 1783 году в Петербурге был разработан генеральный план застройки Усть-Сысольска, по которому в черту города вошли: Вичкодор, Подгорье, Кируль, Кокулькар, Микулсикт, Изкар. В 19 веке добавился Париж.

В 1795 году в Усть-Сысольске было 1753 купцов и мещан. В 1833 имелось 487дворов, 2390 человек, «самая большая часть их — зыряне». В 1926 в центре и пригородах (включая новый пос. Лесозавод) насчитывалось 2729 домов, 8420 человек. В 1733 году началось строительство одноэтажной каменной Покровской церкви, освященной в 1740. В 1792 году началось строительство на втором этаже этого же здания Спасской церкви, освященной в 1808.

В 1753—1768 гг. по соседству построили каменную Троицкую церковь. Позднее к ней пристроили колокольню. Все вместе они составляли — Троицкий собор на берегу Сысолы. В 1820 г. построили Вознесенскую церковь в Кируле. В 1856—1882 гг. был воздвигнут Стефановский собор, нижняя церковь которого действовала с 1883 года. В 1896 году на втором этаже здания была освящена верхняя церковь.

Первое учебное заведение появилось в городе в 1822 году — духовно-приходское училище при Троицком соборе. В 1872 было открыто Усть-Сысольское Духовное училище. В октябре 1890 училище получило новое каменное двухэтажное здание (проект вологодского архитектора Фёдорова).

В 1897 Усть-Сысольск занимал 4 место по численности населения среди 12 городов Вологодской губернии. Здесь с пригородами было 924 дворохозяйства, 4464 чел., еще 523 чел. жили селе Слободском.

В 1921 году Усть-Сысольск стал центром Коми автономной области. В 1924 обласное руководство предложило переименовать Усть-Сысольск во «Владимир-Ленин», но эта идея не осуществилась. 26 марта 19ЗО город был переименован в Сыктывкар («Город на Сысоле»). Местное население и ранее не пользовалось официальным названием, предпочитая говорить просто «Кар» (город). С 5 декабря 1936 Сыктывкар — столица Коми АССР (позднее — Республики Коми).

В 1931 году в Сыктывкаре открыт Коми педрабфак, в 1932 — Коми гос. пединститут, в 1941 была образована База АН СССР по изучению Севера, преобразованная в 1949 в Коми филиал Академии наук, в 1972 открылся Сыктывкарский государственный университет.

В 1989 в Сыктывкаре проживало 242 тыс. чел., из них в самом городе — 225,8 тыс. (в т.ч. в Эжвинском р-не — 57,6 тыс.), Верхней Максаковке — 4 300 чел., в Верхнем Мартыю — 289 чел., в Выльтыдоре — 690 чел., в Краснозатонском — 9 100 чел., в Седхыркеще — 2 412 чел., в Трехозерке — 491 чел. В начале 2000 в городе было 229,3 тыс. постоянных жителей.

Промышленность

Основной отраслью промышленности Сыктывкара является лесная, деревообрабатывающая и целлюлозно-бумажная — на их долю приходится более 62% товарной продукции.

Транспорт

Основным внутригородским транспортом являются автобусы, маршрутки и такси.

Имеется железнодорожный вокзал «Сыктывкар», железнодорожная станция «Човью» (промышленный узел), пассажирская платформа «Эжва» и железнодорожная станция «Койты», а также аэропорт. На данный момент ведётся строительство нового аэропорта в местечке Соколовка в 30 км от города.

Есть автовокзал, откуда курсируют маршруты до городов Киров, Уфа, Ульяновск, Набережные Челны, Чебоксары, Йошкар-Ола, Казань, Пермь.

Достопримечательности

  • Свято-Стефановский кафедральный собор
  • Пожарная каланча
  • Музей олимпийской чемпионки Р. П. Сметаниной.
  • Национальная галерея Республики Коми
  • Национальный музей Республики Коми

Телефоны для связи в экстренных случаях

  • Комитет по делам ГО и ЧС Республики Коми — (8212) 24-2398
  • 01 — пожарная охрана
  • 02 — полиция
  • 03 — скорая помощь
  • 04 — газовая аварийная служба
  • 112 — служба спасения

Источники получения информации о туристских возможностях региона

Министерство экономического развития Республики Коми — www.econom.rkomi.ru

Отдел развития туризма Министерства экономического развития Республики Коми — www.tourism-komi.ru

www.visitkomi.ru

Территориальные органы МЧС России

Главное управление МЧС России по Республике Коми:

г. Сыктывкар, ул. Советская, д. 9

Телефоны: (8212) 44-7215 — оперативный дежурный

(8212) 28-5910 — приемная

(8212) 28-5939 — пресс-служба