Рус  |   Eng  |   中文
The Far Eastern Federal District
The Privolzhsky Federal District
The North-Western Federal District
The Siberian Federal District
The Ural Federal District
The Central Federal District
The Southern Federal District
 

Sakhalin Region

Sakhalin Regional Museum of Local LoreSakhalin RegionIsland MoneronShrubby Conservation

The Subject of the Russian Federation:
Sakhalin Region

Federal District: The Far Eastern Federal District

Area: 87 101 km2
Population: 546 500 persons.

Emblem of Sakhalin Oblast
Emblem of Sakhalin Oblast

Flag of Sakhalin Oblast
Flag of Sakhalin Oblast



Description

Sakhalin Oblast– is a subject of the Russian Federation.

Administrative center – is the city of Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk.

The Oblast was established on October 20, 1932.

Population: 546,500 (Census 2010)

The Oblast shares its border with Kamchatka Krai, Khabarovsk Krai and Japan on the sea.

History

Ancient and Medieval History of Sakhalin and the Kuril Islands is full of mysteries. Also the ethnicity population of the islands remains a puzzle until the arrival there of the first Europeans and Japanese. And they appeared on the islands only in the XVII century and met Ainu in the Kuriles and southern Sakhalin, in northern Sakhalin - Nivkhs. Probably already in the central and northern parts of Sakhalin lived Ulta (Orok).

The first European expedition, which was found in the Kuril and Sakhalin coast, was the expedition of Dutch explorer M.G. Vries. Russian explorers have played a huge role in the study of Sakhalin and the Kuril Islands. At first, in 1646, expedition of V.D. Poyarkov discoveres the northwest coast of Sakhalin, and in 1697, Vladimir Atlasov learns about the existence of the Kuril Islands.

Already in the 10 of XVIII century the process of learning and the gradual accession of the Kuril Islands to the Russian state begin. Russia's success in the development of the Kuril Islands were made possible by enterprise, courage and patience of D.Y. Anciferov, I.P. Kozyrevsky, I.M. Evreinov, F. Luzhin, M.P. Spanberg, W. Walton, D. I. Shabalin and G.I. Shelikhov, and many other Russian scientists-explorers. Simultaneously with the Russian, who moved along the Kuril Islands from the north to the Southern Kuriles and the southernmost of Sakhalin Island the Japanese begin to penetrate. In the second half of the XVIII century the Japanese factories and fishing start to spring up, from the 80 of XVIII century the scientific expedition begins to work.

Special role in Japanese research Mogami Tokunai and Mamiya Rindzo played. At the end of XVlll century French expedition under the command of Jean-F.Laperuza and the British - V.R. Broughton conducted researches off the coast of Sakhalin. The appearance of the theory of the peninsular situation of Sakhalinis connected with their works. The Russian explorer Ivan Krusenstern made the contribute to this theory, who unsuccessfully tried to pass between Sakhalin and the continent in the summer of 1805.

Point in the dispute set G. I. Nevelsky, who in 1849 managed to find a navigable strait between the island and the continent. For discoveries Nevelsky followed the accession of Sakhalin to Russia. On the island Russian military posts and settlements start to spring up one after another.

From the beginning of the XIX century Sakhalin and the Kuril Islands are the subject of the Russian-Japanese territorial dispute. In 1806-180 in South Sakhalin and Iturup Japanese settlement were defeated by Russian sailors. The response to this was the occupation of Russian navigator, V.M. Golovnin by the Japanese in Kunashir. Over the period of the past two centuries, the Russian-Japanese border changed repeatedly.

In 1855, in accordance with the Simodsky contract boundary passed between the islands of Urup and Iturup, Sakhalin was left undivided. In 1875, Russia gave Japan belonged to it northern Kuril Islands, and got instead of it all rights to Sakhalin.

In 1904 the Japanese occupied the island of Sakhalin. After landing on the island, from which evacuated Russian administration, the number of the Russians on the island was reduced from 40 to 6.5 thousand. In 1905, after defeat in the Russian-Japanese war, Russia has only half of Sakhalin Island - north of the 50 the parallel. According to Treaty of Portsmouth southern half of the island was ceded to Japan.

After the partition of Sakhalin, the Japanese started vigorously colonize the southern part of the island. In 1909, in Seaside Government-General the Sakhalin area with the center Alexandrovsk was separated. Russian government took steps to move in Northern Sakhalin.

Researches of the island ran on. There are new details about the natural resources of Sakhalin Islands. Oil explorations have begun in some places. In the area of Okha, oil was discovered by Russians in 80 years of the XIX century.

Russian merchants and industrialists have expressed great interest in developing the natural resources of Sakhalin. The Tsar's administration created an environment in which all attempts to move people and entrepreneurs develop Sakhalin industry remained futile.

In 1920-1925, under the Japanese occupation was the North Sakhalin.

The evening of 22 June, 1941 on the island it was reported about the attack of Nazi Germany on the Soviet Union and the beginning of the Great Patriotic War. And although the North Sakhalin almost the entire war remained deep rear and the people here worked hard to win. Pipeline Okha-Sofiiskoe-on-Amur, which was built during the cold winter of 1941-1942, played an important role in fueling of the Far East and Eastern Siberia. Women replaced men in the workplace. In August, 1945 the Sakhalin turned from deep in the rear in the arena of combat, when Soviet assault troops crossed the border and landed in southern ports. On August 25, fights ended in Sakhalin, and the territory which was lost in 1905, was returned to Russia.

In 1945, when our country as a result of victory in World War II regained the southern part of Sakhalin and the Kuril Islands, Russian-Japanese border has changed for the last time. After 1945, the southern part of Sakhalin Island with Japan, the Kuriles was returned to Russia, and for some time and Sakhalin and Yuzhno-Sakhalin oblast existed separately.

On January 2, 1947 the United Sakhalin Oblast within the RSFSR was established. In the postwar years, the development of the economy of Sakhalin oblast was directly dependent on the resettlement policy of the Soviet state. The first settlers arrived in June, 1946. Before the oil industry of Sakhalin oblast was faced with new challenges opened up new prospects for further increases in oil and gas. Much attention was paid to the expansion of prospecting and exploration works.

Geographical location, natural resources, climate

Sakhalin oblast is the only region in Russia which is located on islands. It includes the island Sakhalin with neighboring small islands Moneron and Tyuleniy as well as Kuril islands. Sakhalin region is washed by the Seas of Okhotsk and Japan and the Pacific Ocean.

Along the shores of Sakhalin Island the West Sakhalin Mountains (Mount Onor, height up to 1 330 m) and East Sakhalin Mountains (highest point of the island - Mount Lopatin, 1 609 m) stretches, which are separated by Tym-Poronai and Susunayskoy lowlands. Most of the Kuril islands is mountainous (highest point - Alaid Volcano, 2,339 m), there are about 160 volcanoes, 40 of which are active, high seismicity. The region has many lakes, swamps. Main rivers: Tym, Poronai (Sakhalin Island).

The climate is of moderate monsoon type. The average January temperature is from -6 ° C (south) to -24 ° C degrees (north), the average August temperature is from +19 ° C (south) to +10 ° C (north). Within the territory of the oblast sparse larch taiga (northern), forests of the Ayan spruce and Sakhalin fir (in the central part), deciduous forests with lianas (south-west) are widespread; in the mountains - the overgrown stone birch and cedar.

Industry

Sakhalin oblast is specialized in fishery and its processing, forest and wood processing, pulp and paper industries.

Oil, gas and coal are mined in the oblast. Main industries are as follows: food, forest and wood processing, pulp and paper, light, fuel, construction materials. Sakhalinsk oblast is the only one in Russia which produces agar.

Agriculture

The leading direction of agriculture – is cattle breeding. Fur farming and reindeer herding are developed. Potatoes, vegetables, forage crops are cultivated.

Sights

• Caldera of Volcano

• Volcano Tyatya

• Waterfalls Ptichiy

• Neskuchenskie spring-wells

• Cape Stolbchaty

• Moneron Island

• Kurilsky reserve

Рус  |   Eng  |   中文
Дальневосточный федеральный округ
Приволжский федеральный округ
Северо-Западный федеральный округ
Сибирский федеральный округ
Уральский федеральный округ
Центральный федеральный округ
Южный федеральный округ
 

Сахалинская область

Сахалинский Областной Краеведческий МузейСахалинская областьОстров МонеронКурильский ЗаповедникВ храмеВо двореВратаКолокольняОстатки японского фундаменао. Тюлений Лежбище морских котиков Юг Сахалина. м. Великан Сахалинская областьСахалинская областьСахалинская областьСивучи на монеронеСахалинская область

Субъект Российской Федерации:
Сахалинская область

Федеральный округ: Дальневосточный федеральный округ

Площадь: 87 101 км2
Население: 546 500 чел.

Герб Сахалинской области
Герб Сахалинской области

Флаг Сахалинской области
Флаг Сахалинской области



Описание

Сахалинская область— субъект Российской Федерации. Административный центр — г. Южно-Сахалинск.

Область Образована 20 октября 1932 года.

Население: 546 500 человек (2010).

Районы, которые входят в область: в области 17 районов, 15 городов, 5 посёлков городского типа.

Граничит по морю с Камчатским краем, Хабаровским краем и Японией.

История

Древняя и средневековая история Сахалина и Курильских островов полна тайн. Загадкой остается и этническая принадлежность населения островов вплоть до появления здесь первых европейцев и японцев. А они появились на островах только в XVII столетии и застали на Курилах и южном Сахалине айнов, на северном Сахалине — нивхов. Вероятно уже тогда в центральных и северных районах Сахалина жили ульта (ороки). Первой европейской экспедицией, оказавшейся у курильских и сахалинских берегов, стала экспедиция голландского мореплавателя М. Г. Фриза. Огромную роль в изучении Сахалина и Курильских островов сыграли и русские землепроходцы. Сначала — в 1646 г. — экспедиция В. Д. Пояркова открывает северо-западное побережье Сахалина, а в 1697 г. В. В. Атласов узнает о существовании Курильских островов.

Уже в 10-е гг. XVIII в. начинается процесс изучения и постепенного присоединения Курильских островов к Российскому государству. Успехи России в освоении Курил стали возможны благодаря предприимчивости, мужеству и терпению Д. Я. Анциферова, И. П. Козыревского, И.М.Евреинова, Ф. Ф. Лужина, М. П. Шпанберга, В. Вальтона, Д. Я. Шабалина, Г. И. Шелихова и многих других российских исследователей-землепроходцев. Одновременно с русскими, которые двигались вдоль Курил с севера, на Южные Курилы и крайний юг Сахалина начинают проникать японцы. Уже во второй половине XVIII в. здесь появляются японские фактории и рыбалки, а с 80-х гг. XVIII в. — начинают работать научные экспедиции.

Особую роль в японских исследованиях сыграли Могами Токунай и Мамия Риндзо. В конце XVIII в. исследования у берегов Сахалина вели французская экспедиция под командой Ж.-Ф.Лаперуза и английская - под командой В. Р. Броутона. С их работой связано появление теории о полуостровном положении Сахалина. Свой вклад в эту теорию внес и российский мореплаватель И. Ф. Крузенштерн, который летом 1805 г. безуспешно пытался пройти между Сахалином и материком.

Точку в споре поставил Г. И. Невельской, который в 1849 г. сумел найти судоходный пролив между островом и материком. За открытиями Невельского последовало присоединение Сахалина к России. На острове один за другим возникают русские военные посты и селения.

С начала XIX в. Сахалин и Курилы становятся объектом российско-японского территориального спора. В 1806—1807 гг. на Южном Сахалине и Итурупе русскими моряками были разгромлены японские поселения. Ответом на это стал захват японцами на Кунашире русского мореплавателя В. М. Головнина. На протяжении двух последних столетий русско-японская граница неоднократно менялась.

В 1855 г. в соответствии с Симодским договором граница прошла между островами Уруп и Итуруп, Сахалин же был оставлен неразделенным. В 1875 г. Россия передала Японии принадлежавшие ей Северные Курилы, получив взамен все права на Сахалин. В 1869—1906 гг.

В 1904 г.японцы захватили Сахалин. Высадившись на острове, откуда уже эвакуировалась русская администрация. Число русских на острове сократилось с 40 до 5—6 тыс. В 1905 г., после поражения в русско-японской войне, за Россией осталась лишь половина острова Сахалин — севернее 50-й параллели. По Портсмутскому договору южная половина острова отошла к Японии.

После раздела Сахалина японцы начали усиленно заселять южную часть острова. В 1909 г. в Приморском генерал-губернаторстве была выделена Сахалинская область с центром в Александровске. Русское правительство принимало меры к заселению Северного Сахалина.

Продолжались работы по изучению острова. Появились новые сведения о природных богатствах Сахалина. В ряде пунктов начались разведки на нефть. В районе Охи нефть была открыта русскими еще в 80-х годах XIX века.

Русские купцы и промышленники проявили большой интерес к разработке природных богатств Сахалина. Царская администрация не только не оказывала  содействия, наоборот, она создавала такие условия, при которых всякие попытки населения и предпринимателей двинуть развитие сахалинской промышленности оставались тщетными.

В 1920—1925 гг. под японской оккупацией находился Северный Сахалин.

Вечером 22 июня 1941 года на острове стало известно о нападении фашистской Германии на Советский Союз и о начале Великой Отечественной войны. И хотя Северный Сахалин почти всю войну оставался глубоким тылом, люди и здесь трудились на победу. Нефтепровод Оха—Софийское-на-Амуре, построенный в холодную зиму 1941—1942 годов, сыграл важную роль в обеспечении топливом Дальнего Востока и Восточной Сибири. Женщины заменяли мужчин на рабочих местах.

В августе 1945 года Сахалин превратился из глубокого тыла в арену боевых действий, когда советские десантные войска перешли границу и высадились в южные порты. 25 августа бои на Сахалине завершились, и территория, утраченная в 1905 году, была возвращена России.

В 1945 г., когда наша страна в результате победы во Второй мировой войне вернула себе Южный Сахалин и Курильские острова, российско-японская граница претерпела изменения в последний раз. После 1945 г. южная часть острова Сахалин вместе с Курилами была Японией возвращена России, и некоторое время Сахалинская и Южно-Сахалинская области существовали раздельно.

2 января 1947 г. была образована единая Сахалинская область в составе РСФСР. В послевоенные годы развитие народного хозяйства Сахалинской области находилось в непосредственной зависимости от переселенческой политики советского государства. Первые переселенцы прибыли в июне 1946 года. Перед нефтяной промышленностью Сахалинской области встали новые задачи, открылись новые перспективы дальнейшего увеличения добычи нефти и газа. Большое внимание было уделено расширению поисковых и разведочных работ.

Географическое положение, природные ресурсы, климат

Сахалинская область — единственный регион в России, полностью расположенный на островах. В её состав входят остров Сахалин с прилегающими небольшими островами Монерон и Тюлений, а также Курильские острова. Омывается водами Охотского, Японского морей и Тихого океана.

Вдоль берегов Сахалина протянулись Западно-Сахалинские горы (гора Онор, высота до 1 330 м) и Восточно-Сахалинские горы (самая высокая точка острова — гора Лопатина, 1 609 м), разделенные Тымь-Поронайской и Сусунайской низменностями. Большая часть Курильских островов гориста (наивысшая точка — вулкан Алаид, 2 339 м); известно около 160 вулканов, 40 из которых действующие; высокая сейсмичность. На территории области много озёр, болот. Главные реки: Тымь, Поронай (о. Сахалин).

Климат умеренный, муссонный. Средняя температура января от −6 °C (на юге) до −24 °C градусов (на севере), средняя температура августа от +19 °C (на юге) до +10 °C (на севере). На территории области распространены редкостойная лиственничная тайга (на севере), леса из аянской ели и сахалинской пихты (в центральной части), широколиственные леса с лианами (на юго-западе); в горах — заросли каменной берёзы и кедрового стланика.

Промышленность

Сахалинская область специализируется на добыче и переработке рыбы, производстве продукции лесной, деревообрабатывающей и целлюлозно-бумажной промышленности.

В области ведется добыча нефти, газа, угля. Основные отрасли промышленности: пищевая, лесная, деревообрабатывающая, целлюлозно-бумажная, легкая промышленность; топливная, производство стройматериалов. Сахалинская область является монополистом в России по производству пищевого агара.

Сельское хозяйство

Ведущее направление сельского хозяйства – животноводство. Развиты пушное звероводство, оленеводство. Выращивают картофель, овощи, кормовые культуры.

Достопримечательности

  • Кальдера вулкана
  • Вулкан Тятя
  • Водопад Птичий
  • Нескученские источники
  • Мыс Столбчатый
  • Остров Монерон
  • Курильский Заповедник