Рус  |   Eng  |   中文
The Far Eastern Federal District
The Privolzhsky Federal District
The North-Western Federal District
The Siberian Federal District
The Ural Federal District
The Central Federal District
The Southern Federal District
 

Smolensk Region

Odygitriya ChurchOdygitriya ChurchSmolenskaya regionKamens Ural  Local Lore Museum

The Subject of the Russian Federation:
Smolensk Region

Federal District: The Central Federal District

Area: 49 779 km2
Population: 965 986 persons.

Emblem of Smolensk region
Emblem of Smolensk region

Flag of Smolensk region
Flag of Smolensk region



Description

Smolensk Oblast is the subject of the Russian Federation.

The administrative center is Smolensk.

The population is 966 000 people (2010).

There are 350 municipalities in the Oblast, among which 2 urban districts, 25 municipal districts, 25 urban settlements, 298 rural settlements.

It borders Moscow, Kaluga, Bryansk, Pskov and Tver Oblasts of Russia, as well as Mogilev and Vitebsk Oblasts of Belarus. Smolensk governorate was formed in 1708.

History

Smolensk emerged on territory that was owned by the Kriviches; the first mention occurred in Ustyugh (Arhangelogorod) compiled chronicle dated 863, when Askold and Dir during the campaign from Novgorod to Tsarigrad skirted the town, because it was heavily fortified and crowded. In 882, the city was occupied and attached to the Kievan Rus by Knyazh Oleg, submitted it to the inheritance of Knyazh Igor, because of whom childhood the power in the city was exercised by governors and brigade, and the overall management was carried out in Kiev.

In XII century independent Grand Duchy of Smolensk went through the period ofits prosperity, taking up most of the territory ofSmolensk Oblast.

In the middle of XIII century duchy began to lose their lands. Since 1404 it has been a part of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania. In 1514, Smolensk and later other Smolensk's lands, were merged in Moscow. After the Time of Troubles, according Deulinsk truce in 1618, Smolensk's lands were merged in the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth. In the course of the Smolensk War (1632—1634) Russia was unable to regain Smolensk's lands.

Smolensk's land completely was merged in Russia as a result of Russian-Polish war in 1654.

On December 30-31, 1918 the Belarusian Provisional Revolutionary Workers 'and Peasants' Government, headed by Zhilunovich D.F. was created in Smolensk. On January 1, 1919 the Provisional Revolutionary Government published the manifesto proclaiming the formation of the Soviet Socialist Republic of Belarus. On January 5, 1919 the government moved into Minsk, occupied by forces of the Red Army, which became the capital of the republic, but Smolensk Oblast was not included in its membership and remained in the RSFSR.

By the decision of the CEC of the USSR dated October 1, 1929 Western Oblast, centered at Smolensk, which included the territory of Smolensk, Bryansk and Kaluga governorates, part of territory ofTver and Moscow governorates and Velikoluksk district of Leningrad Oblast, was founded.

Accorging to the Decree of the CEC of the USSR on September 27, 1937 Western Oblast was abolished. Smolensk, Orel and Kursk Oblasts were formed from the West and Kursk Oblasts. Smolensk Oblast centered at Smolensk has again become an independent administrative territorial unit within the RSFSR.

Primarily the Oblast has consisted of 49 districts, and then another 5 districts were added. In 1944, 13 districts have been transferred to newly formed Kaluga Oblast and 3 districts to Velikoluksk Oblast from Smolensk Oblast, and it acquired modern borders.

Geographical location, natural resources, climate

Smolensk Oblast is situated in the central part of the East European Platform, in the western edge of European Russia, on the border with Belarus. The most part is placed in the Smolensk-Moscow Hill, the western part of the Oblast is placed in East European Plain. The Oblast stretches for 255 km from north to south and 285 km from west to east. In general, the surface is billowy, with hilly areas and relatively deeply incised river valleys.

Most of the territory is located within Smolensk, Dukhovschin and Vyazemsk hills. The highest elevation of the Oblast is 321m near Mariino village of Viazemsk disctrict. In the north-west there are boulder trains, areas of Vitebsk and Valdai hills. In the east there is a part of Moscow Hill.

There are such lowlands as Vazuzskaya, Verhnedneprovskaya, Berezinskaya; Pridneprovskaya lowland with an actual elevation from 175 to 180 m is situated in the southernmost of the Oblast, and Baltic lowland is situated in the north-western part, where there is the lowest elevation 141 m along the bank of Zapadnaya Dvina on the border with Belarus.

The climate is moderately continental. The average temperature in January is -9 ° C, in July +17 ° C. In the most part of the Oblast the differences in temperature are small. There is high temperature (about 1°) only in south districts. The average annual number of precipitation days is from 170 to 190.

The rainfall distribution throughout the year is also unequal - the largest number of precipitation falls during the summer. For the year the winds of westerly, south-westerly and southerly directions are generally dominated. Also, Smolensk Oblast is characterized by high clouds (the largest number of clear days in the springs up to 10%).

Industry

In the industrial output a jewelry industry (JSC PD "Crystal"), an electric power industry (APS “Smolenskenergo”), engineering («Auto-aggregate plant», «Car Repair Plant»), a food industry and chemistry («Dorogobuzh») are highlighted.

Agriculture

The leading industry of agriculture is dual purpose cattle breeding.

A crop growing of the Oblast specializes in feeding and grain crops, a growing of flax, potatoes and vegetables

Attractions

-        National park «Smolenskoe Poozerie»

-        Childish ecological camp "Forest republic"

-        Mineral spring "Holy Well"

-        Fort of ancient Verzhavsk

-        Kremlin of Vyazemsk

-        Fortress wall of Smolensk

-        Burial mound of Gnezdovo

-        Historical-Artistic Reserve «Talashkino»

-         Katyn forest

-        Krasniy Bor

-        Smolensk State Museum-Reserve

-        United memorial museum of Gagarin

-        State Historical and Cultural and Natural Museum-Reserve of Griboedov "Khmelita".

Famous people, born in the Oblast

  • Yuri Gagarin is Soviet cosmonaut, Hero of the Soviet Union, the first man tooking a flight into space
  • Ivan Bobylev (b. 1925) is actor, stage and film director, National Artist of the USSR (1990)
  • Pavel Nakhimov is famous Russian admiral
  • Lyudmila Kasatkina (b.1925) is Soviet and Russian stage and screen actress, National Artist of the USSR (1975).
  • Marina Ladynina (1908—2003) is stage and screen actress, National Artist of the USSR (1950), winner of five State Prizes of the USSR.
  • Valery Nelsky (1906—1990) is actor, National Artist of the USSR (1975)
  • Yury Nikulin (1921—1997) is circus performer, movie actor, National Artist of the USSR (1973)
  • Anatoly Papanov (1922—1987) is stage and screen actor, National Artist of the USSR (1973)
  • Nikolai Plotnikov (1897—1979) is stage and screen actor, National Artist of the USSR (1966).
  • Ilya Frez (1909—1994) is film director, National Artist of the USSR (1989)
  • Nadezhda Rumyantseva (1930 -2008) is Soviet and Russian stage and screen actress, National Artist of the RSFSR.

Phones for communication in emergencies

Directory inquiry service (free) — 09, 20-2009

Smolensk Emergency Control Centre — (4812) 55-1190

Emergency Control Centre of STSI — (4812) 41-8871

Sources of information on tourism opportunities in the Oblast

www.admin-smolensk.ru

Sport, tourism and youth policy department of Smolensk Oblast

www.smol-tourism.ru

Smolensk's administration, the department of international and interregional relations and tourism

www.admin-smolensk.ru

Tourist guide «Smolensk Oblast You welcomes»

www.smoleparh.ru

Pilgrim service of Smolensk's eparchy

www.smolensk-travel.ru

Smolensk's touristic portal

Territorial bodies of the Ministry of Emergency Situations of Russia

Chief Directorate of the MES of Russia for Smolensk Oblast:

Telephone: (4812) 34-99-99

Рус  |   Eng  |   中文
Дальневосточный федеральный округ
Приволжский федеральный округ
Северо-Западный федеральный округ
Сибирский федеральный округ
Уральский федеральный округ
Центральный федеральный округ
Южный федеральный округ
 

Смоленская область

Одигитриевская ЦерковьОдигитриевская ЦерковьСмоленская областьКаменск-Уральский краеведческий музейСмоленская областьАврамиев монастырьАврамиев монастырьВязьма ХмелитаВязьма Хмелита Свято-Троицкий монастырь ДорогобужЕльня НовоспасскоеЕльня НовоспасскоеЗодчий Фёдор Конь - строитель крепостиИоанно- Предтеченский монастырь  ВязьмаСмоленский костелс. АлексиноЦерковь Петра и ПавлаЦерковь Петра и ПавлаПраздник иконы Смоленской Божией Матери ОдигитрияОкопная церковьПамятник полководцу М.И Кутузову

Субъект Российской Федерации:
Смоленская область

Федеральный округ: Центральный федеральный округ

Площадь: 49 779 км2
Население: 965 986 чел.

Герб Смоленской области
Герб Смоленской области

Флаг Смоленской области
Флаг Смоленской области



Описание

Смоленская область — субъект Российской Федерации.

Областной центр — город Смоленск.

Население: 965 986 человек (2010).

Районы, которые входят в область: 350 муниципальных образований, из них: 2 городских округа, 25 муниципальных районов, 25 городских поселений, 298 сельских поселений.

Граничит с Московской, Калужской, Брянской, Псковской и Тверской областями России, а также с Могилёвской и Витебской областями Белоруссии. Смоленская губерния образована в 1708 году

История

Город Смоленск возник на землях, принадлежащих кривичам, первое упоминание встречается в Устюжном (Архангелогородском) летописном своде за 863 год, когда Аскольд и Дир в походе из Новгорода в Царьград обошли город стороной, так как город был сильно укреплён и многолюден. В 882 году город был захвачен и присоединён к Киевской Руси князем Олегом, передавшим его в удел князю Игорю, из малолетства которого власть в городе осуществлялась наместниками и дружиной, а общее управление осуществлялось из Киева.

В XII век независимое Смоленское великое княжество переживает свой расцвет, занимая при этом большую часть территории Смоленской области.

В середине XIII века княжество начало терять свои земли. С 1404 года находится в составе Великого княжества Литовского. В 1514 году Смоленск, а позднее другие смоленские земли, перешли к Москве. После Смутного времени, согласно Деулинскому перемирию 1618 года, смоленская земля перешла к Речи Посполитой. В ходе Смоленской войны (1632—1634) Россия не смогла вернуть себе смоленские земли.

Окончательно Смоленская земля вошла в состав России в 1654 году в результате Русско-польской войны.

30—31 декабря 1918 года в Смоленске было создано белорусское Временное революционное рабоче-крестьянское правительство во главе с Д. Ф. Жилуновичем. 1 января 1919 года Временное революционное правительство опубликовало манифест, провозгласивший образование Советской Социалистической Республики Беларусь. 5 января 1919 правительство переехало в занятый красными частями Минск, который стал столицей республики, однако Смоленщина не вошла в её состав и осталась в РСФСР.

Решением ЦИК СССР с 1 октября 1929 года была образована Западная область с центром в Смоленске, в состав которой вошли территории Смоленской, Брянской и Калужской губерний, часть территории Тверской и Московской губерний и Великолукский округ Ленинградской области.

Постановлением ЦИК СССР 27 сентября 1937 года Западная область была упразднена. Из состава Западной и Курской областей были образованы Смоленская, Орловская и Курская области. Смоленская область с центром в городе Смоленске вновь стала самостоятельной территориально-административной единицей в составе РСФСР.

Первоначально область имела 49 районов, затем до войны добавилось ещё 5 районов. В 1944 году из Смоленской области были переданы 13 районов во вновь образованную Калужскую область и 3 района в Великолукскую область и Смоленщина приобрела современные границы.

Географическое положение, природные ресурсы, климат

Смоленская область расположена в центральной части Восточно-Европейской платформы, на западной окраине европейской части России, на границе с Белоруссией. Большая часть расположена на Смоленско-Московской возвышенности, западная часть области — на Восточно-Европейской равнине. Область протянулась на 255 км с севера на юг и на 285 км с запада на восток. В целом поверхность волнистая, с холмистыми участками и сравнительно глубоко врезанными речными долинами.

Большая часть территории находится в пределах Смоленской, Духовщинской и Вяземской возвышенностей. Максимальная отметка региона — 321 м у деревни Марьино Вяземского района. На северо-западе — моренные гряды, участки Витебской и Валдайской возвышенностей. На востоке участок Московской возвышенности.

Низины — Вазузская, Верхнеднепровская, Березинская; Приднепровская низменность на крайнем юге области с абсолютными отметками от 175 до 180 м и Прибалтийская в северо-западной части где находится самая низкая отметка — 141 м по берегу реки Западная Двина на границе с Белоруссией.

Климат умеренно-континентальный. Средняя температура января −9 °C, июля +17 °C. Для большей части области различия в температуре невелики, лишь южные районы имеют высокую температуру (примерно на 1°).  Среднегодовое количество дней с осадками от 170 до 190.

Распределение осадков в течение года также неравномерно — наибольшее количество их выпадает летом. За год в целом преобладают ветры западного, юго-западного и южного направлений. Также Смоленская область характеризуется высокой облачностью (наибольшее количество ясных дней весной — до 10 %).

Промышленность

В объёме промышленного производства выделяются ювелирная промышленность (ОАО ПО «Кристалл»), электроэнергетика (АЭС, «Смоленскэнерго»), машиностроение («Автоагрегатный завод», «Вагоноремонтный завод»), пищевая промышленность и химия («Дорогобуж»).

Сельское хозяйство

Ведущая отрасль сельского хозяйства — животноводство молочно-мясного направления.

Растениеводство области специализируется на кормовых и зерновых культурах, производстве льна, картофеля и овощей.

Достопримечательности

  • Национальный парк «Смоленское Поозерье»
  • Детский экологический лагерь «Лесная республика»
  • Минеральный источник «Святой колодец»
  • Городище древнего Вержавска
  • Вяземский кремль
  • Смоленская крепостная стена
  • Гнёздовские курганы
  • Историко-художественный заповедник «Талашкино»
  • Катынский лес
  • Красный Бор
  • Смоленский государственный музей-заповедник
  • Объединенный мемориальный музей Ю. А.  Гагарина
  • Государственный историко-культурный и природный музей-заповедник А. С. Грибоедова «Хмелита»

В области родились

  • Юрий Гагарин — лётчик-космонавт СССР, Герой Советского Союза первый человек, совершивший полёт в космос
  • Иван  Бобылев(род. 1925) — актёр, режиссёр театра и кино, народный артист СССР (1990)
  • Павел Нахимов — знаменитый российский адмирал
  • Людмила Касаткина (род. 1925) — советская и российская актриса театра и кино, народная артистка СССР (1975)
  • Марина Ладынина (1908—2003) — актриса театра и кино, народная артистка СССР (1950), лауреат пяти Государственных премий СССР.
  • Валерий Нельский (1906—1990) — актёр театра, народный артист СССР (1975)
  • Юрий Никулин (1921—1997) — артист цирка, актер кино, народный артист СССР (1973)
  • Анатолий Папанов (1922—1987) — актёр театра и кино, народный артист СССР (1973)
  • Николай Плотников (1897—1979) — актёр театра и кино, народный артист СССР (1966)
  • Фрэз Илья Абрамович (1909—1994) — кинорежиссёр, народный артист СССР (1989)
  • Надежда Румянцева (1930—2008) — советская и российская актриса театра и кино, народная артистка РСФСР

Телефоны для связи в экстренных случаях

Справочная служба о номерах телефонов (бесплатная) — 09, 20-2009

Дежурная часть г. Смоленска — (4812) 55-1190

Дежурная часть ГИБДД — (4812) 41-8871

Источники получения информации о туристских возможностях региона

www.admin-smolensk.ru

Департамент спорта, туризма и молодежной политики Смоленской области

www.smol-tourism.ru

Администрация города Смоленска, отдел международных, межрегиональных связей и туризма

www.admin-smolensk.ru

Туристический справочник «Вас приглашает Смоленщина»

www.smoleparh.ru

Паломническая служба Смоленской епархии

www.smolensk-travel.ru

Смоленский туристский портал

Территориальные органы МЧС России

Главное управление МЧС России по Смоленской области:

Тел.: (4812) 34-9999