Рус  |   Eng  |   中文
The Far Eastern Federal District
The Privolzhsky Federal District
The North-Western Federal District
The Siberian Federal District
The Ural Federal District
The Central Federal District
The Southern Federal District
 

Tyumen Region

The ensemble of the Kremlin and the exchange DvoraEpiphany CathedralTrinity Monastery

The Subject of the Russian Federation:
Tyumen Region

Federal District: The Ural Federal District

Area: 1 435 200 km2
Population: 3 430 196 persons.

Emblem of  Tyumen region
Emblem of Tyumen region

Flag of   Tyumen Region
Flag of Tyumen Region



Description

Tyumen Region is the constituent entity of the Russian Federation.

Administrative Center is the city of Tyumen.

The region was founded on August 14, 1944.

Population: 3,430,196 people (2010). Population density — 2.4 people/km²

Districts included into the region: 25 districts (autonomous districts are not counted).

The region borders with Omsk, Kurgan, Sverdlovsk, Tomsk Regions, Nenets Autonomous District, Komi Republic, Krasnoyarsk Kray, as well as North-Kazakhstan region of Kazakhstan; it is the only region of Russia, stretching (along with the autonomous districts) from the Arctic Ocean in the north to the state border in the south.

 History

Settlement of the territory of contemporary Tyumen region by the Russians began in XVI century. Tumen, the oldest Russian city in Siberia, became the heart of this region. It was founded in the lower reaches of the navigable river Tura, near the forest and forest-steppe boundaries. In the XVIII century a Siberian horse-drawn tract route passed through Tyumen.

The appearance of steamship company in the River Ob’s basin in 1840s and the railway construction from Yekaterinburg in 1880s greatly increased the importance of the region as trade and transport and transshipment point.

In  Tyumen Region, in XVIII—XIX centuries, various manufacturing industries developed  , firstly it was mainly  currying, and later a number of industries (millers, cord and rope manufacturing, repair and construction of steam ships, etc.) were added.

1944 is the official year of foundation of Tyumen Region with its centre in the city of Tyumen. In the post-war period other industries such as machine-building, construction materials manufacturing, light industry, etc. got further development.

In  1920s—40s Tyumen Region remained largely an agricultural region. Since the mid of 1960s a new stage of development starts in  Tyumen Region — in a relatively short time the region became the country's energy base. The development of modern Tyumen Region is contributed by its relative proximity to the industrial centers of the Middle Urals.

Among favorable factors are the following: significant water supply sources, location of large peat lands near the city and, what is most important, the good prospects for providing Tyumen Region with cheap oil and gas fuel. 

Geographical location, natural resources, climate

By its area Tumen Region occupies the 3rd place in Russia, going right after Yakutia and Krasnoyarsk Kray, and the 1st place among 4 regions of the Urals Federal District.

The Region occupies a large part of the West Siberian Plain and in fact divides the territory of Russia into two major parts: westward is the Urals and the European part of the country, eastward is  its asian part: Siberia and the Far East.

Tyumen Region stretches for 2100 km from north to south and 1400 km from west to east.

The northernmost point of the Tyumen Region is located on the Yamal Peninsula – it is  Skuratov cape 73° 30 ' n.l., the westernmost one is situated in Severnaya Sosva River head (58° 50 'e.l.), the easternmost point is located in the Nizhevartovsk district by the Vah River head (86° 00'), the southernmost point is in Sladkovsk district, on the border with Kazakhstan (55° 10 ' n.l.).

The Region has extreme climatic conditions in the most of the territory - 90% of it is referred  to the areas of Far North, or are equated to it.

Major rivers of the Region are Ob and Irtysh rivers – they are of shipping significance. Most of the territory is covered by forests.

The climate of the Tyumen Region is continental. It is characterized by severe and long winter, short and cold summer in the north and warm summer in the south, the mid-seasons with the late spring and early autumn frosts.

The flat relief pattern of the Region, its openness from the north and the south contribute to the deep penetration of cold Arctic air mass and the free removal of the continental temperate and even tropical air masses from south to north. Most of precipitations fall from May to October.  

Industry

According to the volume of industrial production the Region occupies the leading place in Russia. The main branch of specialization is the fuel industry.

Electricity production industry is highly developed.

The main focus of engineering enterprises is the following: equipment for oil development,  exploration, oil refining industries, production of tractor trailers, woodworking machines.

A significant part of the timber is exported in raw. Thus, the availability of oil and gas in Tyumen Region has created prerequisites for the development of not only the powerful oil industry, it also determines the development of other industries.

Agriculture

The Region is characterized by harsh climatic conditions, 90% of the territory is referred  to the Far North areas, or equated to it. Only 3% of the territory is occupied by agricultural lands. More favorable climatic conditions in the south give the possibility for growing grains, potatoes, vegetables, coarse and succulent feed, the presence of large areas of grasslands and pastures creates favorable conditions for dairy cattle breeding. About 80% of agricultural products are manufactured here.

Agricultural companies of autonomous districts specialize in the production of milk, eggs, vegetables grown under glass. The traditional occupations of indigenous peoples of the North, i.e. reindeer breeding and fishing, are developed.

Transports

 The Tyumen region has a developed transport infrastructure, which enables rapid development of tourism on its territory.

The main air gateway to the region is the international airport "Roshchino" that meets the requirements, which allow to take aircrafts of all types.

Tyumen is connected by regular direct flights to Moscow, St. Petersburg, Samara, Krasnodar, Kiev, Baku, Tashkent, Munich and several other cities of Russia, as well as of CIS countries and beyond.  

“UTair” Airlines together with “Transaero” carries out international flights from Tyumen to Frankfurt, Berlin, London, Tel Aviv, Paphos (Cyprus).

From the “Roshchino” airport regular charter flights are carried out to European and Asian countries, organized by travel companies of the region.

Cities of Tyumen, Yalutorovsk, Zavodoukovsk and Ishim are located on the Trans-Siberian Railway. Most of the passing trains make stopovers on the routes linking European Russia with Siberia and Far East. The railway route goes through Tobolsk to the Tyumen Region’s North.

Recently, the active works are carried out in the Tyumen Region on reconstruction and improvement of highways. Along the main “tourist artery” of the region, the highway “Tyumen-Tobolsk” the whole complex of tourist facilities is in the process of construction .

Attractions

  • Holy Trinity Monastery 
  • memorial houses of the Decembrists M.I. Muraviev-Apostol and I. D. Yakushkin
  • Grove of the  Decembrists.
  • Ilyinsky Monastery
  • Abalaksky Monastery
  • John-Vvedensky Monastery
  • State nature reserve “Tyumensky”
  • State nature reserve “Belozersky”

Famous people 

• Alexander Abdulov (1953-2008) - Soviet and Russian film and theater actor, director, Honoured Artist of Russia (1986), People's Artist of Russia (1991)

 • Gavriil Batenkov (1793-1863) - a Decembrist, writer

• Boris Grabovsky (1901-1966) - Soviet physicist and inventor (of Ukrainian origin, lived in Central Asia), who is attributed by many researchers an important role in the invention of television

 • Alexander Kokorinov (1726-1772) - Russian architect

Рус  |   Eng  |   中文
Дальневосточный федеральный округ
Приволжский федеральный округ
Северо-Западный федеральный округ
Сибирский федеральный округ
Уральский федеральный округ
Центральный федеральный округ
Южный федеральный округ
 

Тюменская область

Ансамбль Кремля и Менового ДвораБогоявленский Собор Троицкий МонастырьАнсамбль Кремля и Менового ДвораАнсамбль Кремля и Менового ДвораАнсамбль Кремля и Менового ДвораАнсамбль Кремля и Менового ДвораТюремный Замок

Субъект Российской Федерации:
Тюменская область

Федеральный округ: Уральский федеральный округ

Площадь: 1 435 200 км2
Население: 3 430 196 чел.

Герб Тюменской области
Герб Тюменской области

Флаг Тюменской области
Флаг Тюменской области



Описание

Тюменская область — субъект Российской Федерации.

Административный центр — г. Тюмень.

Область образована 14 августа 1944 года.

Численность населения: 3 430 196 человек (2010). Плотность населения — 2,4 чел./км².

Районы, которые входят в область: 25 районов (без учёта автономных округов).

Граничит с Омской, Курганской, Свердловской, Томской областями, Ненецким автономным округом, Республикой Коми, Красноярским краем, а также с Северо-Казахстанской областью Казахстана; единственный регион России, простирающийся (вместе с автономными округами) от Северного Ледовитого океана на севере до государственной границы на юге.

История

Заселение территории современной Тюменской области русскими началось в XVI в. Сердцем этого региона стал город Тюмень — старейший русский город в Сибири, основанный в. на судоходной р. Туре в ее нижнем течении, близ границы леса и лесостепи. В XVIII в. через Тюмень прошла трасса Сибирского гужевого тракта.

Появление в 40-х годах XIX в. пароходства в бассейне Оби и проведение железной дороги от Екатеринбурга железной дороги в 80-ых годах ХIХ в. сильно увеличило значение региона в качестве торгово-транспортного и перевалочного пункта.

В Тюменской области в XVIII—XIX вв. развивались промышленные производства, вначале преимущественно выделка кожи, а позднее еще ряд отраслей (мукомолье, канатно-веревочное производство, ремонт и постройка паровых судов и др.).

1944 год официальная дата образования Тюменской области с центром в г. Тюмени. В послевоенное время дальнейшее развитие получают и другие отрасли промышленности машиностроение, производство стройматериалов, легкая индустрия и др.

В 20—40 гг. 20 века Тюменская область оставалась в основном сельскохозяйственным регионом. С середины 60-х гг. в Тюменской области начинается новый этап развития — в короткие сроки регион стал энергетической базой страны. Развитию современной Тюменской области благоприятствует сравнительная близость ее к промышленным центрам Среднего Урала.

Благоприятны наличие значительных источников водоснабжения, размещение вблизи города крупных торфяных массивов и, что особенно существенно, хорошие перспективы обеспечения Тюменской области дешевым нефтегазовым топливом.

Географическое положение, природные ресурсы, климат

Тюменская область по площади занимает 3 место по России, уступая лишь Якутии и Красноярскому краю, и 1 место среди 4 регионов Уральского федерального округа. Область занимает большую часть Западно-Сибирской равнины и фактически делит территорию России на две большие части: западнее — Урал и Европейская часть страны, восточнее — азиатская: Сибирь и Дальний Восток.

Тюменская область протягивается на 2 100 км с севера на юг и на 1 400 км с запада на восток.

Самая северная точка Тюменской области располагается на полуострове Ямал — мыс Скуратова 73°30' с. ш., самая западная — у истоков реки Северная Сосьва, (58°50 в. д.), крайняя восточная — в Нижневартовском районе у истока реки Вах (86°00'), крайняя южная — в Сладковском районе, на границе с Казахстаном (55°10' с. ш.).

Область имеет экстремальные природно-климатические условия на большей части территории — 90% её отнесено к районам Крайнего Севера или приравнено к ним.

Крупнейшие реки области — Обь и Иртыш — имеют судоходное значение. Большая часть территории покрыта лесами.

Климат Тюменской области континентальный. Он характеризуется суровой продолжительной зимой, коротким и холодным летом па севере и тёплым — на юге, переходными сезонами с поздними весенними и ранними осенними заморозками.

Равнинный характер рельефа области, её открытость с севера и юга способствуют глубокому проникновению холодных арктических воздушных масс и свободному выносу континентальных умеренных и даже тропических воздушных масс с юга на север. Основное количество осадков выпадает с мая по октябрь.

Промышленность

По объёму произведенной промышленной продукции область занимает 1 место в России. Основной отраслью специализации является топливная промышленность.

Значительное развитие получила электроэнергетика.

Основная направленность предприятий машиностроения: нефтепромысловое, геологоразведочное, нефтеперерабатывающее оборудование, тракторные прицепы, деревообрабатывающие станки.

Значительную часть древесины вывозят в необработанном виде. Таким образом, имеющиеся в Тюменской области запасы нефти и газа создали предпосылки для развития не только мощной нефтегазовой промышленности, но и определяют развитие других отраслей.

Сельское хозяйство

Область отличается суровыми природно-климатическими условиями, 90 % территории отнесено к районам Крайнего Севера или приравнено к ним. Лишь 3 % территории области занимают сельскохозяйственные угодья. Более благоприятные климатические условия юга позволяют выращивать зерно, картофель, овощи, грубые и сочные корма, наличие больших площадей сенокосов и пастбищ создает благоприятные условия для молочно-мясного животноводства. Здесь производится около 80 % сельскохозяйственной продукции области.

Сельскохозяйственные организации автономных округов специализируются на производстве молока, яиц, овощей защищенного грунта. Развиты традиционные для коренных народов Севера промыслы — оленеводство и рыболовство.

Транспорт

Тюменская область обладает развитой транспортной инфраструктурой, дающей возможность динамичного развития на ее территории туристической сферы.

Главными воздушными воротами региона является международный аэропорт «Рощино», отвечающий стандартам, позволяющим принимать воздушные суда всех типов.

Тюмень связана регулярными прямыми авиарейсами с Москвой, Санкт-Петербургом, Самарой, Краснодаром, Киевом, Баку, Ташкентом, Мюнхеном и рядом других городов России, а также ближнего и дальнего зарубежья.

Авиакомпания «ЮТэйр» совместно с «Трансаэро» осуществляет из Тюмени международные рейсы во Франкфурт, Берлин, Лондон, Тель-Авив, Пафос (Кипр).

Из аэропорта «Рощино» регулярно осуществляются чартерные рейсы в страны Европы и Азии, организуемые туристическими компаниями региона.

Города Тюмень, Ялуторовск, Заводоуковск и Ишим расположены на Транссибирской железнодорожной магистрали. В них совершают остановки большинство проходящих поездов, следующих по маршрутам, связывающим Европейскую Россию с Сибирью и Дальним Востоком. Через Тобольск проходит железнодорожный путь на Тюменский Север.

В последнее время в Тюменской области ведутся активные работы по реконструкции и благоустройству автомобильных дорог. Вдоль главной «туристической артерии» региона, автомагистрали «Тюмень—Тобольск» осуществляется строительство целого комплекса объектов туристической инфраструктуры.

Достопримечательности

  • Свято-Троицкий мужской монастырь
  • Дома декабристов М. И. Муравьева-Апостола и И. Д. Якушкина.
  • Роща Декабристов
  • Ильинский монастырь
  • Абалакский монастырь
  • Иоанно-Введенский монастырь
  • Государственный природный заказника  «Тюменский»
  • Государственный природный заказника «Белозерский»

Знаменитые люди

  • Александр Абдулов (1953—2008) — советский и российский актёр театра и кино, кинорежиссёр, Заслуженный артист РСФСР (1986), Народный артист РСФСР (1991)
  • Гавриил Батеньков (1793—1863) — декабрист, писатель
  • Борис Грабовский (1901—1966) — советский физик и изобретатель (украинского происхождения, жил в Средней Азии), которому многими исследователями приписывается важная роль в изобретении телевидения
  • Александр Кокоринов  (1726—1772) — русский архитектор