Рус  |   Eng  |   中文
The Far Eastern Federal District
The Privolzhsky Federal District
The North-Western Federal District
The Siberian Federal District
The Ural Federal District
The Central Federal District
The Southern Federal District
 

Murmansk region

Cathedral of the AnnunciationMurmansk regionMonument to Kirill and MefodyChurch Assumption

The Subject of the Russian Federation:
Murmansk Region

Federal District: The North-Western Federal District

Area: 144 902 km2
Population: 836 672 persons.

Emblem of Murmansk region
Emblem of Murmansk region

Flag of  Murmansk region
Flag of Murmansk region



Description

Murmansk region is a the subject of the Russian Federation.

Its administrative center is the city of Murmansk.

The population is 836,672 people (2010). Population density is 5.8 persons / km ², the proportion of urban population is 91.21%.

In the west it borders on Norway and Finland, in the south it borders on the Republic of Karelia.

The Murmansk region is composed of 12 urban districts and five municipalities. In the municipal district boundaries are established 23 settlements, including 13 urban and 10 rural.

History

The history of human stay in what is now the Murmansk oblast is several thousand years old. Monuments discovered by archaeologists confirm the presence of people on the Kola Peninsula is in the VIII-VII century BC, during the Arctic Paleolithic. In 1625 on the Kola Peninsula, there were about 2500 people.

On October 4, 1916 settlement on the Kola Peninsula was founded a town with  a new name - Romanov-on-Murman. On this day, on a small hill where now stands the Palace of Culture and Science of  Kirov, a ceremony of laying a temple in honor of the Patron Saint of Seafarers Nicholas of Myra. Romanov-on-Murman was the last city to be established in the Russian Empire. In  1917, it received the status of the city and the name - Murmansk. Six months later, on April 3, 1917, after the February Revolution, he took its current name - Murmansk. On June 13, 1921 Alexander County Arkhangelsk region has been transformed in the Murmansk region with the center in the city of Murmansk, and on August 1, 1927 Province transformed into Murmansk county and incorporated into the Leningrad region.

In 1970, in honor of the 100th anniversary of Lenin was made the Kola ultradeep well, the deepest borehole in the world, drilled solely for the study of the lithosphere at the point where the line comes close to the surface of the Earth. At the end of 1970 Murmansk oblast ranked second in the north-western region of space in terms of gross industrial output of the Soviet Union and subsequent hyperinflation caused the economic crisis. Was dramatically reduced turnover of the ports.

By 2002, the number of residents decreased by 150 000 compared with 1989, nearly a third.

Despite the geographical distance, Murmansk today live a very active life. It sold a variety of business - projects, the city visited by a large number of not only Russian but also foreign businessmen. Politicians, scientists, famous artists from different countries, did not bypass the Murmansk their attention.

Geographical location, natural resources, climate:

Murmansk oblast is situated in Northern Europe. It is located on the Kola Peninsula, as well as on Rybachy (peninsula), Sredny. The islands are Aynovskie Islands, Veliky, Seven Islands, Kildin. For the most part they are in the Arctic Circle. Almost the whole Murmansk oblast is covered with tundra and forest tundra, just to the south region - the northern taiga.

Industry

The biggest enterprises of the region:

  • "Apatite" (Kirovsk) — production of apatite concentrate
  • "Kandalaksha Aluminum Plant" (Kandalaksha) — production of primary aluminum
  • "Kola Mining and Metallurgical Company" (Monchegorsk, Polar, Nickel) — production of nickel, refined copper, sulfuric acid
  • Olenegorsky Mining — production of iron ore
  • "Murmansk Trawl Fleet" (Murmansk) — fishing

In the Murmansk region has a unique power: Kislogubskaya tidal power plant, generating electricity from tidal energy (the only tidal power plant in Russia).

Agriculture:

The main branch of agriculture is cattle breeding.

Cattle breeding provides milk cattle breeding, fattening pigs and poultry, an important industry is reindeer breeding.

In the oblast there are 12 state and 7 fishing farms, large farms of industrial enterprises. In the cultivated area is dominated by perennial and annual herbs, cabbage, etc.

Around the major cities are developed greenhouses.

Transportation

Highways

The region held the federal road M-18 "Kola" from St. Petersburg through Petrozavodsk, Murmansk and Pechenga to the border with Norway (international automobile checkpoint "Borisoglebsk") of 1068 km. Results of the Murmansk region of public roads, there are 2566 km, of which paved 2472 km (or 96.3%) (in Russia as a whole 91.3%), including: II category (106 km), III category (628 km).

By provision of public roads paved Murmansk oblast has a rate of 1 km of 17.1 thousand km ². Of the 145 villages 106, or 73.1%, have a connection on paved roads with a network of public roads (at Russia as a whole - 66.1%). During the period of implementation of the "Roads of Russia" (2000-2004) in the Murmansk region were constructed and rehabilitated 50.1 km of federal and regional roads and 453.7 meters of bridges.

Until 2005, the relationship between the right and left banks of the Kola Bay was carried out on bridges across the river Cola Tuloma. Which was started in October 2005 bridge across the Kola Bay is a hub link that provides road transport links parts of the Murmansk region and the output to the borders of the Scandinavian countries (Norway, Finland) and a significant part of the Murmansk region. The construction of this bridge built since 1992 with equity participation of the federal budget. The length of the bridge - 2500 meters, the number of traffic lanes - 4, design and estimate the value of property prices in 2005 - 2,856,873,000 rubles.

Railroads

The main road is AC electrified section 27.5 KV Kovda - Murmansk (double track from the station to station Apatity Kovda single track and double-track with the inserts from the station to station Apatity, Murmansk) line of St. Petersburg - Murmansk. The line was built in its original form during the First World War, and entered into a temporary operation of November 5, 1916.

Later, branches were built on the locomotive Alakurtti, Kovdor, Revda, Monchegorsk, Severomorsk, Nickel and Liinakhamari. In the early 1950s construction began on the east branch, to the bays and Ponoi Iokanga in the eastern part of the peninsula (the so-called. Kola Railway), but construction was not completed.

Attractions:

Despite the relative "youth" of the city, there are many attractions.

  • Monument to the defenders of the Soviet Arctic — Murmansk Alyosha — the largest monument in Russia.
  • Monument to the Sts Cyril and Methodius.
  • Murmansk Regional Museum
  • Monument sign (panel) icebreaker "Ermak"
  •  Murmansk Regional Museum of Art.
  •  Murmansk Oblast Puppet Theatre
  •  Murmansk Oblast Drama Theatre

Рус  |   Eng  |   中文
Дальневосточный федеральный округ
Приволжский федеральный округ
Северо-Западный федеральный округ
Сибирский федеральный округ
Уральский федеральный округ
Центральный федеральный округ
Южный федеральный округ
 

Мурманская область

Благовещенский соборМурманская областьПамятник Кириллу и МефодиюЦерковь УспенияКандалакшский государственный природный заповедникКандалакшский государственный природный заповедник

Субъект Российской Федерации:
Мурманская область

Федеральный округ: Северо-Западный федеральный округ

Площадь: 144 902 км2
Население: 836 672 чел.

Герб Мурманской области
Герб Мурманской области

Флаг Мурманской области
Флаг Мурманской области



Описание

Мурманская область— субъект Российской Федерации.

Административный центр области — город Мурманск.

Численность населения: 836 672 (2010). Плотность населения: 5,8 чел/км², удельный вес городского населения: 91,21 %.

На западе граничит с Норвегией и Финляндией, на юге граничит с Республикой Карелия.

Мурманская область состоит из 12 городских округов и 5 муниципальных районов. В составе муниципальных районов установлены границы 23 поселений, в том числе 13 городских и 10 сельских.

История

История пребывания человека на территории нынешней Мурманской области насчитывает несколько тысячелетий. Обнаруженные археологами памятники подтверждают пребывание людей на Кольском полуострове уже в VIII—VII тысячелетии до нашей эры, в период Арктического палеолита. В 1625 году на Кольском полуострове проживало около 2,5 тысяч человек.

4 октября 1916 года посёлок получил статус города и новое название — Романов-на-Мурмане. В этот день на невысоком холме, где сейчас располагается Дворец культуры и техники имени Кирова, состоялась торжественная церемония закладки храма в честь покровителя мореплавателей Николая Мирликийского. Романов-на-Мурмане стал последним городом, основанным в Российской империи. Через полгода, 3 апреля 1917 года, после Февральской революции, он принял своё нынешнее название — Мурманск.

13 июня 1921 года Александровский уезд Архангельской губернии был преобразован в Мурманскую губернию с центром в городе Мурманске, а 1 августа 1927 года губерния преобразована в Мурманский округ и включена в состав Ленинградской области.

В 1970 году в честь 100-летия со дня рождения Ленина была заложена Кольская сверхглубокая скважина, самая глубокая буровая скважина в мире, пробурённая исключительно для исследования литосферы в том месте, где граница Мохоровичича подходит близко к поверхности Земли.По состоянию на конец 1970-х годов Мурманская область занимала второе в северо-западном регионе место по объёму валовой промышленной продукции Советского Союза и последующая гиперинфляция вызвали экономический кризис.  Резко сократился грузооборот портов.

К 2002 году число жителей города сократилось на 150 тысяч по сравнению с 1989 годом, то есть почти на треть. 

Несмотря на географическую удаленность, Мурманск в наши дни живет очень активной жизнью. Здесь реализуются различные бизнес — проекты, город посещает большое количество не только российских, но и зарубежных бизнесменов. Политики, ученые, известные деятели искусства из разных стран, тоже не обходят Мурманск своим вниманием.

Географическое положение, природные ресурсы, климат

Мурманская область расположена в Северной Европе. Находится на Кольском полуострове, а также на Рыбачьем (полуострове), Среднем. Острова: Айновские острова, Великий, Семь островов, Кильдин. Большей частью за Северным полярным кругом. Практически вся Мурманская область покрыта тундрами и лесотундрами, лишь на юге области — северная тайга.  

Промышленность

Крупнейшие предприятия области:

  • «Апатит» (Кировск) — производство апатитового концентрата
  • «Кандалакшский алюминиевый завод» (Кандалакша) — производство первичного алюминия
  • «Кольская горно-металлургическая компания» (Мончегорск, Заполярный, Никель) — производство никеля, рафинированной меди, серной кислоты
  •  Оленегорский ГОК — производство железорудного сырья

«Мурманский траловый флот» (Мурманск) — рыбный промысел

В Мурманской области имеется уникальная электростанция: Кислогубская приливная электростанция, производящая электричество из энергии приливов и отливов (единственная приливная электростанция в России).

Сельское хозяйство

Главная отрасль сельского хозяйства — животноводство. Животноводство представлено молочным скотоводством, откормочным свиноводством и птицеводством; важная отрасль — оленеводство.

В области 12 совхозов и 7 рыболовецких колхозов; крупные подсобные хозяйства промышленных предприятий. В посевной площади преобладают многолетние и однолетние травы, кормовая капуста и др.

Около крупных городов развивается тепличное хозяйство.

Транспорт

Автодороги

По территории области проходят федеральная дорога М-18 «Кола» от Санкт-Петербурга через Петрозаводск, Мурманск, Печенгу до границы с Норвегией (международный автомобильный пункт пропуска «Борисоглебск») от км 1 068. Всего по Мурманской области автодорог общего пользования насчитывается 2 566 км, из них с твёрдым покрытием 2 472 км (или 96,3 %) (в целом по России 91,3 %), в том числе: II категории (106 км), III категории (628 км).

По обеспеченности автодорогами общего пользования с твёрдым покрытием Мурманская область имеет показатель 17,1 км на 1 тыс. км². Из 145 сельских населённых пунктов 106, или 73,1 %, имеют связь по дорогам с твёрдым покрытием с сетью автодорог общего пользования (по России в целом — 66,1 %). За период реализации программы «Дороги России» (2000—2004 гг.) в Мурманской области построено и реконструировано 50,1 км федеральных и территориальных автодорог и 453,7 погонных метров мостовых сооружений.

До 2005 года связь между правым и левым берегами Кольского залива осуществлялась по мостам через реки Кола и Тулома. Пущенный в октябре 2005 года мостовой переход через Кольский залив является узловым звеном, обеспечивающим автотранспортную связь районов Мурманской области и выход к границам Скандинавских стран (Норвегия, Финляндия) и значительной части области с Мурманском. Строительство этого мостового перехода велось с 1992 года при долевом участии федерального бюджета. Протяжённость моста — 2 500 метров, количество полос движения — 4, проектно-сметная стоимость объекта в ценах 2005 года — 2856,873 млн рублей.

Железные дороги

Основная дорога — электрифицированный переменным током 27,5 КВ участок Ковда — Мурманск (двухпутный от станции Ковда до станции Апатиты и однопутный с двухпутными вставками от станции Апатиты до станции Мурманск) линии Санкт-Петербург — Мурманск. Линия построена в своей первоначальной форме во время Первой мировой войны, и введена во временную эксплуатацию 5 ноября 1916 года.

Позднее были построены тепловозные ветки на Алакуртти, Ковдор, Ревду, Мончегорск, Североморск, Никель и Лиинахамари. В начале 1950-ых годов развернулось строительство ветки на восток, до бухт Поной и Иоканьга в восточной части полуострова (т. н. Кольская железная дорога), но строительство не было завершено.

Достопримечательности

  • Памятник «Мурманский Алеша»
  • Памятник Святым Равноапостольным Кириллу и Мефодию
  • Мурманский областной краеведческий музей 
  • Мурманский областной художественный музей.
  • Мурманский областной театр кукол
  • Мурманский областной драматический театр