Рус  |   Eng  |   中文
The Far Eastern Federal District
The Privolzhsky Federal District
The North-Western Federal District
The Siberian Federal District
The Ural Federal District
The Central Federal District
The Southern Federal District
 

Chelyabinsk region

Natural landscape archaeological. Center ArkaimNatural landscape archaeological. Center ArkaimChelyabinsk RegionChelyabinsk region

The Subject of the Russian Federation:
Chelyabinsk Region

Federal District: The Ural Federal District

Area: 88 529 km2
Population: 3 400 000 persons.

Emblem of Chelyabinsk Oblast
Emblem of Chelyabinsk Oblast

Flag of Chelyabinsk Oblast
Flag of Chelyabinsk Oblast



Description

 Chelyabinsk region - the constituent entity of the Russian Federation

The administrative center - the city of Chelyabinsk, with a population of 1.1 million people, situated at a distance of 1919 km from Moscow. On October 26, 2006 law № 66-ZO was passed "On administrative-territorial system of the Chelyabinsk region" (signed by the Governor November 8, 2006). According to him, "administrative-territorial division of the Chelyabinsk region - Territorial Organization of the Chelyabinsk region, which is a system of administrative-territorial units, serving the legal basis for the functioning of state authorities and local self-government, providing citizens' participation in the management of government and public affairs." Paragraph 2 of Article 1 defines "to the administrative-territorial units in the Chelyabinsk region are: the territorial area of the city, cities, districts, townships (working villages), village councils." List of administrative-territorial units approved in the resolution of the Legislative Assembly of Chelyabinsk region of 25 May 2006 № 161 "On approving the list of municipalities (administrative units) of the Chelyabinsk region and localities within them" as well as in the Constitution (Fundamental Law) of the Chelyabinsk region.

The composition of the Chelyabinsk region includes 316 municipalities, including 16 urban districts, 27 municipalities, 27 towns and 246 villages. The youngest settlements officially recognized as urban districts - Ozersk, Snezhinsk, Trekhgorny, and Locomotive - have a status of closed administrative-territorial formations (CATF). Status and municipal boundaries are established by the laws of the region.

The population of Chelyabinsk region, as of, 01/01/2012 - 3.4 million people. In urban area population 2.8 million people, representing 81.3% of the total population, rural - 626.3 thousand people. Major cities: Magnitogorsk - 408.5 thousand people, Chrysostom - 177 thousand people, Miass - 166.6 thousand people, Kopeysk - 139.8 thousand people.

History

Before the Russian colonization of the Southern Urals in the XVII century, the territory of the Chelyabinsk region was home to the modern ethnic groups of the Bashkir people. The Russian population settled by the river Iset, Tobol in the Middle, Lower River Miass. The first mention of the Russian settlement, is the settlement Beloyarsk, Krasnoarmeyskiy District, in 1682. The period from the end of the XVII century to the beginning of the XVIII century was marked by Tsar Peter and his reforms, seeking to bring Russia into the patriarchal way of technical re-equipment. In 30-ies of the XVIII century the southern Urals begin intensive construction of fortifications. In 1736 "Chelyabinsk town" was founded. Thanks to the natural resources found in the depths of the Ural Mountains, the Southern Urals region is strategically important for Russia. Beginning with the 50-60s of the XVIII century, there began active development of these resources. After the 1812 war, the modern art industry began to form in the territory of the Chelyabinsk region, which eventually became an independent and unique cultural phenomenon. The main center of artistic industry was Chrysostom Castle. In 1815 in Zlatoust an arms factory was created. The Chelyabinsk region is strongly associated with artistic iron casting. Iron casting was utilized in the Castle in 1815. At the beginning of the XIX century a gold boom began in the Southern Urals. This "gold boom" happened when a plant opened in the Miass containing rich deposits of gold. Socio-economic development of the region contributed to the construction of the railway network linking Samara to Chelyabinsk, and Chelyabinsk to Yekaterinburg. The first train arrived in Chelyabinsk from Samara on October 22, 1892. In the 30th year of what is now the Chelyabinsk region, massive industrialization began. The main events of industrialization were the construction of the Chelyabinsk Tractor Plant and the Magnitogorsk Metallurgical Combine, which was built next to the city of Magnitogorsk. The date of foundation of the Chelyabinsk region is considered to be in 1934. During the Great Patriotic War, the Chelyabinsk region was the "edge of the reference power." Chelyabinsk produced heavy tanks, self-propelled units, and ammunition, so the town was named "tankograd."

On January 17, 1934, the Ural region was disaggregated, resulting in the Chelyabinsk Region being established. Due to this, the area of the region did decline. Thus, in the period from 1938 to 1943 of the Chelyabinsk region transferred to the seven districts of Sverdlovsk region. After the transfer of 32 districts to the newly-formed Kurgan region on February 6, 1943, the border area has remained practically unchanged.

Geographical location, natural resources, climate

The Chelyabinsk region is located on the border between Europe and Asia, the southern Ural Mountains and adjacent plains. Chelyabinsk Region has 88.53 sq. kilometers (8,852,900 hectares), representing 0.5% of Russian territory, and 3.5 million people (2.5% of the population of Russia). By area, this region is greater than Austria, Ireland and other European countries, but less than its neighbors in the Ural region. Chelyabinsk region is located in the southern part of the Urals. The notional boundary between Europe and Asia is carried out mainly on the ridges of the watershed of the Ural Mountains. Not far from the station Urzhumka YUUZHD (8 km from Chrysostom), at the pass Uraltau stands a stone pillar. On one side is marked "Europe" and on the other, "Asia". The city of Chrysostom, Katav-Ivanovsk, and Satka are in Europe. Chelyabinsk, Troitsk, and Miass in Asia. Magnitogorsk is in both parts of the world. The length of the region from north to south is 490 km. From west to east is 400 km. The geographical center of the area is located on the right bank of the Ui, 3 km to the southeast of the village Nizhneustselemovo Uyskogo area. The Chelyabinsk region is the territory ranked 5th out of 8 regions of the Urals. The Chelyabinsk region is primarily the eastern slope of South Urals and the adjacent part of the Trans-Ural plains and the West Siberian Plain. Only a small part of the territory in the west, the so-called Mountain-area factory, comes on the western slopes of the Southern Urals. The relief of the Chelyabinsk region is highly diverse. It was formed over millions of years. Within the Chelyabinsk region, there are various areas, from the lowlands and hilly plains to mountain ranges, peaks exceeding 1000 m. The highest point of the area is Mount Nurgush (1406 m). Within the region originate the many rivers that belong to the basins of the Kama, Tobol and Ural. Since these are, basically, their upper reaches, they are shallow. There are 358 rivers over 10 km long. Rivers the length of 100 km are a total of 17. And only 7 rivers Miass, Uy, the Urals, Hay, Ufa, Uvelka, Gumbeyka - are in the range of length greater than 200 km.

Industry

The boundaries of the Chelyabinsk region contain one of the most important industrial and economic complexes of the Urals. The Chelyabinsk region extracts and processes 95% of the graphite and magnesite, 70% of the talc, and 71% of the dolomite in Russia. For the extraction of these minerals the region occupies a monopoly position in Russia. The region has more than 300 deposits of iron ore, copper-zinc, gold, refractory clays, talc, graphite, quartz, kaolin, barite, and phosphorite. In the region are dozens of large factories and power plants. The enterprises of the Chelyabinsk region produce 27% of the steel and 15% of the steel pipes in Russia. The development area is defined by metallurgy, machine building, energy, construction, agro-industrial complexes. The main types of products are industrial tractors, trucks, bulldozers, graders, cranes, tramways, mining and metallurgical equipment. In the north-west of the region are unique major centers of the nuclear industry (Snezhinsk and Ozersk), and in the west are the centers of rocket and space technology. The Chelyabinsk Region ranks 11th in terms of gross regional product, the 4th place in terms of production in manufacturing, 13 place for investment in fixed assets, in 10th place for the construction of housing. In terms of industrial production in the Urals region of Chelyabinsk, Sverdlovsk is second only. In the structure of its industry, ferrous metallurgy stands out (about half of the products). The iron and steel industry, the scale of which the region is unmatched in the country, represents one of the largest smelters (Magnitogorsk, Chelyabinsk), conversion plants (Chrysostom), enterprises for the production of ferroalloys and steel pipes (Chelyabinsk). In non-ferrous metallurgy is the production of copper (Karabash, Kyshtym), zinc (Chelyabinsk) and nickel (Upper Ufalej), accompanied by the production of refractory metals of magnesite (Satka). Mechanical engineering is based on its own metallurgical base, which accounts for its metal content, although less significant than in the Sverdlovsk region. Here, tractors, trucks, trams, technological equipment, rocket and space technology and electrical products are engineered. The power base region includes mining of lignite (Kopeisk) and several large thermal power plants (Trinity and South-Ural power plant, etc.). Part of the region in the 50s of the XX century has been subjected to radioactive contamination as a result of the accident at the plant for processing waste "Lighthouse". The most "atomic cities" in Russia are located here, belonging to the nuclear fuel cycle: Snezhinsk (formerly Chelyabinsk-70), Ozersk (formerly Chelyabinsk-65) and Trekhgorny (former Chrysostom, 36).

Agriculture

With clear predominance of industrial area has developed agriculture, especially in the zone of "black earth" soil. Most large crops are wheat and other crops. Livestock has been typically meat and dairy. There is fine-wool sheep. Around industrial sites there is developed agriculture, suburban type. The share of agriculture in the economic structure of the Chelyabinsk region is about 6%. Most of the agricultural production accounts for crop production (55.6%). The population in rural areas is 655.6 thousand, or 18.6% of the population. Investment in agriculture is more than 1.3 billion rubles. Particular attention is paid to strengthening the material-technical base in the form of allocation of equipment leasing, renovation of production, introduction of modern technologies. The rise of agriculture is one of the strategic directions of economic policy of the regional government.

Transport

Transportation and road complex of Chelyabinsk region have been part of the region's infrastructure. JSC "RZD" - South-Ural Railway (YUUZHD) is a major freight carrier in the region. It accounts for almost 90% of the total turnover. Annually, commuter trains at the Chelyabinsk branch of the road on average carried 13 million passengers. The total length of highways of the Chelyabinsk region is 18.5 thousand km, of which 612 km - federal, 8503 km - regional, 5720 - departmental and 3931 - other. Solid surface are 8320 km of roads of regional significance (97.8%) of them improved - 5843 km. The Chelyabinsk Airport is the gateway to the Southern Urals. The length of the runway is 3.2 thousand km. Currently, the airport of Chelyabinsk provides 12 air carriers.

Things to do

In the Chelyabinsk region there are 10 theaters, 3 concert organizations, 42 museums. The largest museums in the region are:

• Chelyabinsk Regional Museum, containing a unique fund of rare books, ethnographic materials, painting and porcelain;

• Museum of arts and crafts of the Urals.

Theaters and orchestras of having Russian and international prominence, are:

• Chelyabinsk academic drama theater.

• Chelyabinsk Theater of Opera and Ballet.

• Chamber Drama Theatre.

• Russian folk orchestra "Malachite".

• Hall of Chamber and Organ music from one of the best agencies in Europe, produced by German company "Eule".

In the region there are a wide network of cultural centers, clubs, libraries and music schools. The Southern Urals is the birthplace of world-renowned art of casting and Kasli Zlatoust steel engraving. The region has about 300 historical monuments, 1500 archeological monuments. Two sites have global significance: Ignatievskaya cave with rock art and settlement of proto Arkaim - the coeval of Homeric Troy. There are 500 registered monuments of architecture. Many of the monuments, with a unique natural landscape, are the basis for the development of tourism both domestic and international.

Famous Residents

Igor V. Kurchatov (December 30, 1902 (January 12, 1903) - February 7, 1960). Soviet physicist, academician of the USSR (1943), scientific director of the Soviet atomic project, three times Hero of Socialist Labor (1949, 1951, 1954). He was born December 30, 1902 (January 12, 1903) in the village Simskski Zavod, Ufa province (now Sim Asha district of Chelyabinsk region).

Boris Shaposhnikov (September 20 (October 2), 1882 - March 26, 1945). The Soviet military commander, military theorist, Marshal of the Soviet Union (1940), Chief of General Staff of the Red Army in 1937-1940 and 1941-1942. Born on September 20 (October 2) in 1882 in Zlatoust, provincial town of Ufa province.

Chernetsov, Alexander (born March 9, 1953). Sculptor, painter and graphic artist. Author of many monuments and Yuryuzan area. He was born, lives and creative works in the city Juruzan.

Vasily Konstantinovich Blucher (November 19 (December 1), 1890 - November 9, 1938). The Soviet commander, Marshal of the Soviet Union (1935). In November 1917 the Commissioner was sent to Red Guard units in Chelyabinsk, where he was elected chairman of Revolutionary Committee, and in March 1918 became Chairman of the Board.

Рус  |   Eng  |   中文
Дальневосточный федеральный округ
Приволжский федеральный округ
Северо-Западный федеральный округ
Сибирский федеральный округ
Уральский федеральный округ
Центральный федеральный округ
Южный федеральный округ
 

Челябинская область

Природный ландшафтный археологический центр «АрКаим»Природный ландшафтный археологический центр «АрКаим»Челябинская областьЧелябинская областьЗаповедник «Ильменский»Национальный парк «Таганай»

Субъект Российской Федерации:
Челябинская область

Федеральный округ: Уральский федеральный округ

Площадь: 88 529 км2
Население: 3 478 400 чел.

Герб Челябинской области
Герб Челябинской области

Флаг Челябинской области
Флаг Челябинской области



Описание

Челябинская область — субъект Российской Федерации.

Административный центр - город Челябинск,  с населением 1131,2 тыс. человек, расположен на расстоянии 1919 км от Москвы.

26 октября 2006 года был принят закон № 66-ЗО «Об административно-территориальном устройстве Челябинской области» (подписан губернатором 8 ноября 2006 года). Согласно ему, «административно-территориальное устройство Челябинской области - территориальная организация Челябинской области, представляющая собой систему административно-территориальных единиц, выступающая организационно-правовой основой функционирования органов государственной власти и местного самоуправления, обеспечивающая участие граждан в управлении государственными и общественными делами». Пункт 2 статьи 1 определяет: «к административно-территориальным единицам в Челябинской области относятся: города с территориальным районом, города, районы, поселки городского типа (рабочие поселки), сельсоветы». Перечень административно-территориальных единиц утвержден в постановлении Законодательного Собрания Челябинской области от 25 мая 2006г. № 161 «Об утверждении перечня муниципальных образований (административно-территориальных единиц) Челябинской области и населенных пунктов, входящих в их состав», а также в Уставе (основном законе) Челябинской области.

В состав Челябинской области входят 316 муниципальных образований, в т.ч. 16 городских округов, 27 муниципальных районов, 27 городских поселений и 246 сельских поселений. Самые молодые населенные пункты, официально признанные городскими округами – Озерск, Снежинск, Трехгорный и Локомотивный - имеют статус закрытых административно-территориальных образований (ЗАТО). Статус и границы муниципальных образований устанавливаются законами области.

Численность населения Челябинской области на 01.01.2012 г. - 3478,4 тыс. человек. В городах области проживает 2851,7 тыс. человек, что составляет 81,3% от общей численности населения, в сельской местности - 626,3 тыс. человек.

Крупные города: Магнитогорск - 408,5 тыс. человек, Златоуст - 177 тыс. человек, Миасс - 166,6 тыс. человек, Копейск - 139,8 тыс. человек.

История

До русской колонизации Южного Урала в XVII веке на территории современной Челябинской области проживали этнические группы башкирского народа. Русское население заселялось по течению реки Исети, в Среднем Притоболье, низовьях реки Миасс. Первое упоминание о русском поселении – Белоярской слободе Красноармейского района – 1682 год. Период с конца XVII века до начала XVIII века прошел под знаком царя Петра и его преобразований, стремившихся привести патриархальную Россию на путь технического переоснащения. В 30-е гг. XVIII в. на Южном Урале начинается интенсивное строительство крепостных сооружений. В 1736 года был заложен «Челябинский городок». Благодаря природным богатствам, обнаруженным в недрах Уральских гор, Южный Урал становится стратегически важным регионом для России. Начиная с 50-60-х гг. XVIII в. идет активная разработка этих богатств. После 1812 года войн на территории современной Челябинской области начинается формироваться художественная промышленность, которая со временем стала самостоятельным и уникальным культурным явлением. Основными центрами художественной промышленности были Златоуст, Касли. В 1815 г. в г. Златоусте создается оружейная фабрика. Челябинская область прочно ассоциируется с художественным чугунным литьем. Чугунное литье было освоено в Каслях в 1815 гг. В начале XIX в. на Южном Урале начинается «золотой бум», когда у Миасского завода были открыты богатые залежи золота. Социально-экономическому развитию региона способствовало строительство сети железных дорог: Самара-Челябинск, Челябинск-Екатеринбург. Первый поезд в Челябинск пришел из Самары 22 октября 1892 г.

В 1930-е года на территории современной Челябинской области началась массовая индустриализация. Главными событиями индустриализации стало строительство Челябинского тракторного завода и Магнитогорского металлургического комбината, радом с которым вырос город Магнитогорск.

Датой основания Челябинской области принято считать 1934 год. Во время Великой Отечественной войны Челябинская область стала «опорным краем державы». В Челябинске производился тяжелый танки, самоходные установки, боеприпасы, благодаря чему город получи название «танкоград». 17 января 1934 года Уральская область была разукрупнена, в результате чего была образована Челябинская область. В дальнейшем площадь области неоднократно уменьшалась. Так, в период с 1938 по 1943 год из Челябинской области переданы в состав Свердловской области семь районов. После передачи 32 районов в состав вновь образованной Курганской области с 6 февраля 1943 года границы области практически не менялись.

Географическое положение, природные ресурсы, климат

Челябинская область находится на границе Европы и Азии, на южной части Уральских гор и прилегающей равнине. Челябинская область обладает пространством 88,53 тыс. кв. км (8 852 900 га), что составляет 0,5 % территории России, где проживает 3,5 млн. человек (2,5 % населения РФ). По площади область больше Австрии, Ирландии и других европейских государств, но меньше своих соседей по Уральскому региону. Челябинская область — южная часть Урала. Условная граница между Европой и Азией проводится в основном по водораздельным хребтам Уральских гор. Недалеко от станции Уржумка ЮУЖД (8 км от Златоуста), на перевале Уралтау, стоит каменный столб. На одной из его сторон написано «Европа», на другой — «Азия». Города Златоуст, Катав-Ивановск, Сатка находятся в Европе. Челябинск, Троицк, Миасс — в Азии, Магнитогорск — в обеих частях света. Протяжённость области с севера на юг — 490 км. С запада на восток — 400 км. Географический центр области располагается на правом берегу реки Уй, в 3 км на юго-восток от села Нижнеусцелемово Уйского района. Челябинская область по территории занимает 5 место из 8 регионов Урала. Челябинская область занимает, в основном, восточный склон Южного Урала и прилегающие к нему части Зауральской равнины и Западно-Сибирской низменности. И только небольшая часть территории на западе — так называемая Горно-Заводская зона — заходит на западные склоны Южного Урала. Рельеф Челябинской области отличается большим разнообразием. Он формировался на протяжении миллионов лет. В пределах Челябинской области имеются различные области — от низменностей и холмистых равнин до хребтов, вершины которых превышают 1 000 м. Высочайшая точка области — гора Нургуш (1406 м). В пределах области берут начало многочисленные реки, принадлежащие к бассейнам Камы, Тобола и Урала. Так как здесь, в основном, их верховья, поэтому они маловодны. Рек длиной более 10 км насчитывается в области 348. Протяженность свыше 100 км имеют всего 17 рек. И только 7 рек: Миасс, Уй, Урал, Ай, Уфа, Увелька, Гумбейка — имеют в пределах области длину более 200 км.

Промышленность

В границах Челябинской области находится один из важнейших хозяйственно-экономических комплексов Урала. В Челябинской области добывается и перерабатывается 95% графита, 95% магнезита, 70 % талька, 71 % доломита России. По добыче этих полезных ископаемых регион занимает монопольное положение в России. На территории области расположено более 300 месторождений железных и медноцинковых руд, золота, огнеупорных глин, талька, графита, кварца, каолина, барита, фосфоритов. На территории региона расположены десятки крупных заводов, фабрик, электростанций. Предприятия Челябинской области производят 27 % стали и 15 % стальных труб в России. Развитие области определяют металлургический, машиностроительный, топливно-энергетический, строительный, аграрно-промышленный комплексы. Основные виды выпускаемой продукции: промышленные тракторы, грузовые автомобили, бульдозеры, автогрейдеры, краны, трамваи, горно-металлургическое оборудование. На северо-западе области располагаются уникальные крупнейшие центры атомной промышленности (города Снежинск и Озерск), а на западе — центры ракетостроения и космической техники. Челябинская область занимает 11 место по объему валового регионального продукта, 4 место по объему продукции в обрабатывающих производствах, 13 место по инвестициям в основной капитал, 10 место – по строительству жилья. По объему промышленного производства на Урале Челябинская область уступает только Свердловской. В структуре ее промышленности резко выделяется черная металлургия (около половины выпускаемой продукции). Черная металлургия, по масштабам которой область не имеет себе равных в стране, представлена одними из крупнейших металлургических комбинатов (Магнитогорск, Челябинск), передельными заводами (Златоуст), предприятиями по производству ферросплавов и стальных труб (Челябинск). В цветной металлургии имеется производство меди (Карабаш, Кыштым), цинка (Челябинск) и никеля (Верхний Уфалей). Металлургии сопутствует производство огнеупоров из магнезита (Сатка). Машиностроение опирается на собственную металлургическую базу, что обусловливает его металлоемкость, хотя и менее значительную, чем в Свердловской области. Здесь выпускают тракторы, грузовые автомобили, трамвайные вагоны, технологическое оборудование, ракетно-космическую технику, электротехнические изделия. Энергетическая база области включает добычу бурого угля (Копейск) и несколько мощных тепловых электростанций (Троицкая и Южно-Уральская ГРЭС и др). Часть территории области в 50-х годах XX века была подвергнута радиоактивному загрязнению в результате аварии на предприятии по переработке отходов «Маяк». Здесь больше всего в России «атомградов», принадлежащих к ядерному топливному циклу: Снежинск (б. Челябинск-70), Озёрск (б. Челябинск-65) и Трехгорный (б. Златоуст-36).

Сельское хозяйство

При явном преобладании промышленности область имеет развитое сельское хозяйство, особенно в зоне распространения чернозёмных почв. Наиболее велики посевы пшеницы и других зерновых культур. Животноводство имеет мясомолочное направление. Имеется тонкорунное овцеводство. Вокруг промышленных узлов развито сельское хозяйство пригородного типа. Доля агропромышленного комплекса в структуре экономики Челябинской области составляет около 6 %. Большая часть продукции сельского хозяйства приходится на растениеводство (55,6%). Численность населения в сельской местности - 655,6 тысячи человек, или 18,6% населения области. Инвестиции в сельское хозяйство составляют более 1,3 млрд. руб. Особое внимание уделяется укреплению материально-технической базы в виде выделения техники по лизингу, реконструкции производства, внедрения современных технологий. Подъем сельского хозяйства является одним из стратегических направлений экономической политики областной власти.

Транспорт

Транспортно-дорожный комплекс Челябинской области является необъемлемой частью инфраструктуры региона. Филиал ОАО «РЖД» — Южно-Уральская железная дорога (ЮУЖД) является главным грузоперевозчиком региона. На ее долю приходится почти 90% от общего объема грузооборота. Ежегодно пригородными поездами на Челябинском отделении дороги в среднем перевозится 13 млн. пассажиров. Общая протяженность автомобильных дорог Челябинской области составляет 18,5 тысячи км, из которых 612 км — федерального значения, 8503 км — областного, 5720 — ведомственные и 3931 — прочие. Твердое покрытие имеют 8320 км дорог областного значения (97,8%), из них усовершенствованное — 5843 км. Аэропорт Челябинска является воротами Южного Урала. Протяженность взлетно-посадочной полосы составляет 3,2 тыс. км. На данный момент в аэропорте Челябинска представлено 12 авиаперевозчиков.

Достопримечательности

В Челябинской области действуют 10 театров, 3 концертных организации, 42 музея. Крупнейшими музеями региона являются:

• Челябинский областной краеведческий музей, содержащего уникальные фонд редкой книги, этнографические материалы, живопись и фарфор;

• Музей декоративно-прикладного искусства Урала. Театрами и коллективами области, имеющими общероссийскую и международную известность, являются: • Челябинский академический театр драмы,

• Челябинский театра оперы и балета,

• Драматический Камерный Театр,

• оркестр русских народных инструментов «Малахит»,

• Зал камерной и органной музыки с одним из лучших органов в Европе производства немецкой фирмы «Ойле».

В области функционирует широкая сеть дворцов культуры, клубов, библиотек, музыкальных школ. Южный Урал — родина всемирно известного каслинского художественного литья и златоустовской гравюры на стали. В регионе расположено около 300 памятников истории, 1500 памятников археологии. Два памятника имеют мировое значение: Игнатьевская пещера с наскальной живописью и протогородское поселение Аркаим — ровесник гомеровской Трои. Зарегистрировано 500 памятников архитектуры. Многие из памятников, имея уникальный природный ландшафт, являются базой для развития туризма — внутреннего и международного.

Знаменитые люди

Курчатов Игорь Васильевич (30 декабря 1902 года (12 января 1903 года) - 7 февраля 1960 года). Советский физик, академик АН СССР (1943), научный руководитель советского атомного проекта, трижды Герой Социалистического Труда (1949, 1951, 1954). Родился 30 декабря 1902 года (12 января 1903 года) в поселке Симский Завод Уфимской губернии (ныне город Сим Ашинского района Челябинской области).

Шапошников Борис Михайлович (20 сентября (2 октября) 1882 года - 26 марта 1945 года). Советский военачальник, военный теоретик, Маршал Советского Союза (1940), начальник Генерального штаба РККА в 1937-1940 и в 1941-1942 годах. Родился 20 сентября (2 октября) 1882 года в Златоусте, уездном городе Уфимской губернии.

Чернецов Александр Михайлович (дата рождения 9 марта 1953 года). Скульптор, художник, график. Автор многих памятников Юрюзани и района. Родился, живёт и творчески работает в городе Юрюзань.

Блюхер Василий Константинович (19 ноября (1 декабря) 1890 года - 9 ноября 1938 года). Советский военачальник, Маршал Советского Союза (1935). В ноябре 1917 года был направлен комиссаром красногвардейского отряда в Челябинск, где был избран председателем ревкома, а в марте 1918 года стал председателем Совета.