Рус  |   Eng  |   中文
The Far Eastern Federal District
The Privolzhsky Federal District
The North-Western Federal District
The Siberian Federal District
The Ural Federal District
The Central Federal District
The Southern Federal District
 

Smolensk

Catholic church in SmolenskThe Cathedral on Cathedral HillPeter and Paul Church in GorodyankeMonument to M. Glinlka

The Subject of the Russian Federation:
Smolensk Region

Federal District: The Central Federal District

Area: 166,35 km2
Population: 314 500 persons.


Description

Smolensk is a city in Russia, the administrative center of Smolensk Oblast.

The year of foundation is 863.

The city's area is 166.35 km².

The population is 314.5 thousand people (2010).

History

The first dating mention about Smolensk was occurred in Ustyugh compiled chronicle dated 863.

Emerged on the ancient trade route "from the Varangians to the Greeks" (from the Baltic to the Black Sea) in the upper reaches of  Dnieper, Smolensk, along with Novgorod and Kiev, was the third capital of the Ancient Russian State.

Smolensk was very important for whole Kievan Rus - it was the great post of trade and domestic craft industry, the military fortress. Smolensk's knyazes several times became grand knyazes of Kiev.

XII century - the beginning of XIII century is the period of prosperity of Smolensk duchy. The city was in the third place after Kiev and Novgorod in amount of pre-Mongolian architecture monuments. Trade treaties, dated the first half of XIII century between Smolensk, Riga and Gottland, give evidence of close economic and cultural relations of Smolensk with the West.

Since the middle of XIII century a series of expansionist campaigns of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, and then the Grand Duchy of Moscovy has caused serious damage to the development of Smolensk region.

Its geopolitical situation has stabilized since the middle of XVI century. Smolensk was merged in the dynamically growing Muscovy, and become the western gate on the way to its capital. In order to strengthen Russian borders the largest stone fort of the state, symbolizing the greatness and power of Russian, was built in Smolensk in the early XVII century.

At the beginning of XVII century, during the Time of Troubles Smolensk played a key role in the rescue of Russian statehood. In 1609-1611 the defense of the city under command of vaivode Mikhail Shein from the army of Polish King Sigismund III destroyed the plans of this monarch to hold Russian throne, gave the time to rally the forces of Russian society. Smolensk's nobility refused to swear to Polish king and became a stronghold of the 1st and 2nd territorial irregulars.

At the beginning of XVIII century, Smolensk was one of the headquarters of Peter I, from where he has managed the construction of fortifications on the western and south-western borders of Russia during the Northern War with Sweden. Just this circumstance has predetermined the foundation of Smolensk governorate in 1708 among of the first eight Russian governorates.

Just in the territory of Smolensk governorate the war with Napoleon's army has become the first Patriotic War for Russia. Smolensk's nobility initiated the creation of people's irregular to repel the enemy, and Smolensk region became the place of mass guerrilla movement. Indeed, burning Smolensk was sacrificed at the altar of the future victory of our Motherland. After the end of the Patriotic War of 1812, towns of the governorate were in shambles. The reconstruction was delayed for many decades. In the middle of XIX century the first railroad, which contributed to growth of industrial production, had been laid in Smolensk governorate.

At the turn of XIX-XX centuries Smolensk was a well-known cultural center in the country, thanks largely to the activity of philanthropist Mary Klavdievna Tenisheva.

In 1929, Smolensk became the administrative center of the Western Oblast, which consisted of the territory of Smolensk Oblast, Bryansk Oblast, parts of Kaluga, Tver and Moscow governorates, as well as Velikoluksk district of Leningrad Oblast.

In 1937, the Western Oblast was dissolved in favor of Smolensk, Orel and Kursk Oblasts. Newly formed Smolensk Oblast with area of 72 thousand square kilometers consisted of 49 districts.

The next ordeal for our state became the Great Patriotic War of 1941-1945. In the battles at Smolensk Oblast German army has suffered heavy losses and has been shut down, that allowed time for preparation of the Moscow defense. During the occupation, the significant damage was caused to Smolensk and cities of the Oblast - industrial enterprises and railway junction were eliminated, architectural monuments were turned into shambles. Smolensk was included in the number of 15 cities for priority reconstruction by the Decree of the Council of People's Commissars of the USSR dated November 1, 1945.

In 1985 the honorary title of Hero-City was confered to Smolensk.

Industry

The industry of Smolensk is represented by such following lines of industries as engineering and metalworking, electrotechnical industry, production of building materials.

Transport

In the city at the end of 2011 there are 4 tram lines, 162 routes of passenger motor transport - municipal buses and private carriers - fixed-route taxis.

Smolensk is the large railway junction situated on Moscow railroad. The railway station was opened in 1868, and the modern station building was opened in 1951. The building of a suburban station that is placed opposite the station for long-distance trains was built in 2008. Modern building the bus station in Smolensk was built in 1987. At 7 km from the city the highway M-1 "Belarus" passes.

There are two airports in the city - the airport South”, which is civilian, and "North", which is joint airdrome. Currently, they are not operated.

Famous people of the city

-        Belyaev, Alexander Romanovich (1884-1942) is Soviet fantasy writer, one of the founders of Soviet science fiction

-        Glinka, Mikhail Ivanovich (1804-1857) is Russian composer, founder of Russian classical music

-        Petrov, Boris Nikolayevich (1913-1980) is one of the founders of the domestic cosmonautics, an academician of the member of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR

-        Potemkin, Grigoriy Aleksandrovich is the great Russian statesman

-         Tvardovsky, Alexander Trifonovich is writer.

Attractions

  • Avraamiev Monastery
  • Smolensk fortress wall
  • Cathedral mountain
  • Church of Archangel Michael
  • Assumption cathedral

Phones for communication in emergencies

Directory inquiry service (free) — 09, 20-2009

Smolensk Emergency Control Centre — (4812) 55-1190

Emergency Control Centre of STSI — (4812) 41-8871

Sources of information on tourism opportunities in the Oblast

www.admin-smolensk.ru

Sport, tourism and youth policy department of Smolensk Oblast

www.smol-tourism.ru

Smolensk's administration, the department of international and interregional relations and tourism

www.admin-smolensk.ru

Tourist guide «Smolensk Oblast You welcomes»

www.smoleparh.ru

Pilgrim service of Smolensk's eparchy

www.smolensk-travel.ru

Smolensk's touristic portal

Territorial bodies of the Ministry of Emergency Situations of Russia

Chief Directorate of the MES of Russia for Smolensk Oblast:

Telephone: (4812) 34-99-99

Рус  |   Eng  |   中文
Дальневосточный федеральный округ
Приволжский федеральный округ
Северо-Западный федеральный округ
Сибирский федеральный округ
Уральский федеральный округ
Центральный федеральный округ
Южный федеральный округ
 

Смоленск

Костёл в СмоленскеСмоленская крепостьУспенский кафедральный собор на Соборной гореЦерковь Петра и Павла на ГородянкеПамятник М. Глинке Памятник М. Глинке Окопная церковьПамятник Героям войны 1812г.Памятник Героям войны 1812г.Успенский соборЦерковь Варвары

Субъект Российской Федерации:
Смоленская область

Федеральный округ: Центральный федеральный округ

Площадь: 166,35 км2
Население: 314 500 чел.


Описание

Смоленск — город в России, административный центр Смоленской области.

Год основания: 863 г.

Площадь города составляет: 166,35 км².

Население: 314,5 тыс. человек (2010 год).

История

Первое датированное упоминание о Смоленске в Устюжском летописном своде относится к 863 году. Возникнув на древнем торговом пути «из варяг в греки» (из Балтийского в Черное море), в верховьях Днепра, Смоленск, наряду с Новгородом и Киевом, являлся третьей столицей Древнерусского государства.

Смоленск имел большое значение для всей Киевской Руси: он был крупным пунктом торговли и ремесленного производства, военной крепостью. Смоленские князья несколько раз становились великими киевскими князьями.

XII век — начало XIII века — время расцвета Смоленского княжества. По количеству памятников домонгольского зодчества город был на третьем месте после Киева и Новгорода. О тесных экономических и культурных связях Смоленска с Западом свидетельствуют торговые договоры первой половины XIII века между Смоленском, Ригой и о. Готландом.

С середины XIII века череда завоевательных походов из Великого княжества Литовского, а затем Великого княжества Московского нанесла серьезный ущерб развитию Смоленского края.

Его геополитическое положение стабилизировалось с середины XVI века. Смоленск был включен в динамично растущее Московское государство, став западными воротами на пути к его столице. Для укрепления русских рубежей в начале XVII века в Смоленске была построена крупнейшая каменная крепость государства, символизировавшая величие и силу России.

В начале XVII века, в эпоху Смутного времени Смоленск сыграл ключевую роль в спасении российской государственности. Оборона города 1609—1611 годов под руководством воеводы Михаила Шеина от армии польского короля Сигизмунда III разрушила планы этого монарха на занятие русского престола, дала время на сплочение сил русского общества. Смоленские дворяне отказались присягнуть польскому королю и стали оплотом 1-го и 2-го земских ополчений.

В начале XVIII века Смоленск являлся одной из штаб-квартир Петра I, откуда он руководил строительством оборонительных сооружений на западных и юго-западных границах России в ходе Северной войны со Швецией. Именно это обстоятельство предопределило рождение в 1708 году Смоленской губернии — в числе первых восьми российских губерний.

Именно на территории Смоленской губернии война с Наполеоновской армией превратилась для России в первую Отечественную войну. Смоленские дворяне стали инициаторами создания народного ополчения для отпора врагу, а Смоленская земля – местом массового партизанского движения. Горящий Смоленск фактически был принесен на алтарь будущей победы нашего Отечества. После окончания Отечественной войны 1812 года города губернии лежали в руинах. Восстановление затянулось на долгие десятилетия. В середине XIX столетия через Смоленскую губернию пролегла первая железная дорога, способствовавшая росту промышленного производства.

На рубеже XIX—XX вв. Смоленск — известный в стране культурный центр, во многом благодаря деятельности меценатки Марии Клавдиевны Тенишевой.

В 1929 году Смоленск стал административным центром Западной области, в состав которой вошли территории Смоленской, Брянской, части Калужской, Тверской и Московской губерний, а также Великолукского округа Ленинградской области.

В 1937 году Западная область была расформирована в пользу Смоленской, Орловской и Курской областей. В состав вновь образованной Смоленской области площадью 72 тысячи квадратных километров входило 49 районов.

Очередным тяжелейшим испытанием для нашей страны стала Великая Отечественная война 1941—1945 годов. В боях на Смоленской земле германские армии понесли тяжелые потери и были остановлены, что дало время на подготовку к обороне Москвы. Смоленску и городам области за годы оккупации был нанесен огромный ущерб: уничтожены промышленные предприятия и железнодорожный узел, архитектурные памятники превращены в руины. Постановлением СНК СССР от 1 ноября 1945 года Смоленск был включен в число 15 городов, подлежащих первоочередному восстановлению.

В 1985 году Смоленску было присвоено почетное звание города-героя.

Промышленность

Промышленность Смоленска предоставлена следующими отраслями промышленности — машиностроение и металлообработка, электротехническая отрасль, производство стройматериалов.

Транспорт

В городе на конец 2011 г. действуют 4 трамвайных маршрута, 162 маршрута пассажирского автотранспорта — муниципальных автобусов и частных перевозчиков-маршрутных такси.

Смоленск — крупный железнодорожный узел, находится на Московской железной дороге. Железнодорожная станция была открыта в 1868 году, а современное здание вокзала — в 1951 году. Здание пригородного вокзала напротив вокзала для поездов дальнего следования построено в 2008 году. Современное здание автовокзала в Смоленске построено в 1987 году. В 7 км от города проходит автомагистраль М-1 «Беларусь».

В городе есть два аэропорта: Аэропорт «Южный »— гражданский и «Северный» — совместного базирования. В настоящее время не функционируют.

Известные люди города

  • Беляев, Александр Романович (1884—1942) — советский писатель-фантаст, один из основоположников советской научно-фантастической литературы
  • Глинка, Михаил Иванович (1804—1857) — русский композитор, основоположник русской классической музыки
  • Петров, Борис Николаевич (1913—1980) — один из основоположников отечественной космонавтики, академик АН СССР
  • Потемкин Григорий Александрович — великий русский государственный деятель
  • Твардовский, Александр Трифонович — писатель

Достопримечательности

  • Авраамиев монастырь
  • Смоленская крепостная стена
  • Соборная гора
  • Церковь Михаила Архангела
  • Успенский собор

Телефоны для связи в экстренных случаях

Справочная служба о номерах телефонов (бесплатная) — 09, 20-2009

Дежурная часть г. Смоленска — (4812) 55-1190

Дежурная часть ГИБДД — (4812) 41-8871

Источники получения информации о туристских возможностях региона

www.admin-smolensk.ru

Департамент спорта, туризма и молодежной политики Смоленской области

www.smol-tourism.ru

Администрация города Смоленска, отдел международных, межрегиональных связей и туризма

www.admin-smolensk.ru

Туристический справочник «Вас приглашает Смоленщина»

www.smoleparh.ru

Паломническая служба Смоленской епархии

www.smolensk-travel.ru

Смоленский туристский портал

Территориальные органы МЧС России

Главное управление МЧС России по Смоленской области:

Тел.: (4812) 34-9999