Рус  |   Eng  |   中文
The Far Eastern Federal District
The Privolzhsky Federal District
The North-Western Federal District
The Siberian Federal District
The Ural Federal District
The Central Federal District
The Southern Federal District
 

Еврейская автономная область


The Subject of the Russian Federation:
Jewish Autonomous Region

Federal District: The Far Eastern Federal District

Population: 176 600 persons.


Description

Subject of the Russian Federation: Jewish Autonomous Oblast

Federal District: Far Eastern

Federal District Population: 176,600.

Description

Jewish Autonomous Oblast was established on 7 May 1934.

Its administrative centre is Birobidzhan.

It shares its borders with China (along the Amur River) in the south, with Amur Oblast in the west, with Khabarovsk Krai in the east. The population of the oblast is 176.6 thousand people. The administrative divisions are - Obluchensky District, Smidovichsky District, Birobidzhansky District, Leninsky District, Oktyabrsky District.

History

On 28 March 1928, the Presidium of the General Executive Committee of the USSR passed the decree "On the attaching for Komzet of free territory near the Amur River in the Far East for settlement of the working Jews”.

On 20 August 1930 the General Executive Committee of RSFSR accepted the decree "On formation of the Birobidzhan national region in the structure of the Far Eastern Territory". On 7 May 1934, All-Russian Central Executive Committee accepted the decree on the transformation of the Jewish national region established in 1930 into the Jewish Autonomous Region. It was planned to reorganize the autonomous oblast into Jewish Republic (as a place for dense habitation of Jews of the USSR) but the plan was never carried out.

After reorganization of all Russian autonomous oblasts into republics in the early 1990s, the Jewish Autonomous Oblast remained the only autonomous oblast in the RF.

Unlike all the other autonomies of Russia (formerly of the entire USSR), the Jewish Autonomous Oblast has a unique history; it was established in the beginning of the 1930s as a national territorial subdivision for immigrants who moved there in the epoch of Soviet regime, in the territory that had never been a place of dense habitation for this nation.

The Jews who migrated to Priamurye in the 1920—1930 and their future generations had never constituted the majority of the population of this autonomous oblast, and after the large-scale repatriation to Israel in 1970-1990s they even became its small minority. The Jew population peak of the oblast was reached in 1937 - 20,000 people, after that it was constantly descending. Nowadays more than 15 thousand repatriates from the Jewish Autonomous Oblast live in Israel, more than 5 thousand of them live in the city of Maalot making up half of the city's population. All-Israel meeting of repatriates from the Jewish Autonomous Oblast id held annually.

On 25-27 June 2008, the Jewish Autonomous Oblast was represented at this meeting by A. Vinnikov, the mayor of Birobidzhan, Yefim Frisman, the head of the Institute for Complex Analysis of Regional Problems (Birobidzhan) and others. The quantity of the titular ethnic group is constantly falling down (1.2 % in 2002), however the name and status of the autonomous oblast are still preserved. There exist a project of Jewish Autonomous Oblast joining Khabarovsk Krai. There is also an alternative variant concerning Jewish Autonomous Oblast joining Amur Oblast with further establishment of Amurland. Jewish people clamour against the elimination of the Jewish Autonomous Oblast. Victor Ishaev, the authorized representative of the president in the Far Eastern Federal District, considers the unification with the Jewish Autonomous Oblast with Khabarovsk Krai untimely.

Geographical Position

By its nature and weather conditions, the oblast belongs to one of the most favourable places of the Russian Far East. Its territory is covered with two types of relief - mountainous and flat.

One of the mountainous region s is the southern part of Khingano-Burein Range that occupies nearly a half of the entire area. The plain spreading in the south and in the east is the westernmost point of the Middle Amur Lowland.

The climate is moderate, monsoon. Winters are cold, with little snow (the average temperature in January is from -21 °C in the southernmost point to -26 °C in the mountains), summers are warm and humid. The relief has a significant influence over the climate. Throughout the year about 450-500 mm of precipitations fall on the plain, nearly 75 % of them fall within the period from May till September.

The principal resources of the oblast are fertile lands, different mineral resources, the Amur, Bira, Bidzhan rivers and their tributaries with diverse fish fauna, extensive forests. Out of 1.7 mln ha of forest lands, 160 thousand are covered with cedar woodland, 249 thousand ha - with fir forests, 163 thousand ha - with larch forests. The stand of timber per acre is 202 mln m³ (State forest register, 2009).

From the south-west, south and south-east, 584 km of the territory is washed by the waters of the greatest rivers of Eurasia - the Amur. The waterway near the western border of the oblast (in the neighbourhoods of the selo of Pashkovo) is 1.5 km wide and near the eastern border - 2.5 km wide. The Amur is covered with ice for as long as 5 months - from the end of November to the third decade of April. In winter the ice thickness can reach 2 m, which allows to perform cargo and passenger transportation. The average navigation period is 180 days.

A number of big (more than 10 m long) and 1146 small (less than 10 km long) rivers belong to the Amur basin. These are the Bira, the Bidzhan, the Birakan, the In, the Urmi, the Ikura and others. The total distance of the river network is 8,231 km. The heads of the rivers Bira and Bidzhan serve as spawning grounds for the Far Eastern calico salmon.

Industry

The oblast produces 9% of the industrial products of Khabarovsk Krai. Manufacturing agricultural machines and power transformers (Birobidzhan), wood processing, including furniture trade (Nikolaevka, Birobidzhan), shoemaking, knitting, fabrics, and hosiery have an interregional significance. Tinnery is well developed.

By 1970 the industrial production grew 11 times as compared to 1940. All the large enterprises were built during the post-war years. The main industrial centre is the city of Birobidzhan.

Agriculture

The Jewish Autonomous Oblast is a vegetable-and-potato and dairy-and-meat base of Khabarovsk and partly of the central and northern regions of the krai. Moreover, the agriculture of the region is oriented towards soybeans and grain production and bee-breeding. Fishing is not highly developed. There are three plants for calico salmon breeding and an ordinary fish farm.

Transport

The oblast has a dense network of transportational routes. The double-track electrified one is in its basis.

It has a free access to the Pacific via the Amur waterway. Trans-Siberian Railway that ensured the shortest routes from Western Europe and the Near East to the countries of the Asian-Pacific region goes through its territory.

Trans-Siberian Railway and the Amur waterway.

Highways, railways and fluvial navigable waterways connect all the settlements with one another and the regional centre.

The distance of the railways of public service is 530 km; the most important stations are: Birobidzhan, Volochaevka-2, Izvestkovaya, Obluchye, In, Bira. The Amur Bridge is now being reconstructed. It will link the Jewish Autonomous Oblast and Khabarovsk (the administrative centre of Khabarovsk Krai).

Motor vehicles perform a substantial volume of cargo and passenger transportation. The total distance of highways is 1.9 thousand km, the paved highway distance is 1.6 km. The highway Khabarovsk - Birobidzhan - Obluchye - Amur Oblast with a ferry crossing is of great significance.

The river navigation is developed in the southern regions of the oblast. The navigable rivers are the Amur and the Tunguska. The distance of the river routes is 600 km. The major river ports are located in the selos of Leninskoe, Amurzet, Yekaterino-Nikolskoe, Nagibovo, Pashkovo. Taking into account the fact that the border of the Jewish Autonomous Oblast along the Amur River coincides with the state boundary of Russia and China, three checkpoints are established in the oblast: Nizhneleninskoe, Amurzet, Pashkovo. They give on the Chinese cities Tuntszyan, Minshan, Tszyain and are open for the international freight traffic and passenger services. River and ferry services function in summer, and highway services - in winter. Pokrovka port (Smidovichsky District) is also open for the international freight traffic. The ZheltyYar Airport links Birobidzhan with Khabarovsk and the interior regional centres.

It is being reconstructed and expanded, it is planned to launch an international aircraft route Birobidzhan-Tszyamusy (China). The well-developed transportation system and the essential infrastructure (border crossings, customs complex) provide favourable conditions for the development in the sphere of foreign economic activity.

Types of Tourism

  • Ecological
  • Health-related
  • Cultural-cognitive
  • Sightseeing
  • Mountain skiing

Sights

  • "Bauhaus" in Birobidzhan
  • Lenin Square
  • Memorial to V. I. Lenin
  • Memorial to a Jewish writer Sholom-Aleykhem
  • City Culture Centre
  • Soviet Square
  • Square of Peoples of Russia and China Friendship
  • Memorial to Military and Labour Glory of the Jewish Autonomous Oblast
  • Victory Square
  • Chapel in honour of the Sovereign icon of Mother of God
  • Rodina Cinema
  • Museum of Modern Art
  • Building of the department store in the Sholom-Aleikhema Street
  • Building of the former gastronome
  • City Quay
  • Building of the Regional Civil Registry Office
  • Regional Philharmonic and Theatre Square with a photo-musical fountain
  • Tikhonkaya Nipple
  • Dendrological Park
  • State Nature Reserve Bastak
  • Fish farm in the Tyoploe Lake

Famous Natives

  • Golovach, Sergei Mikhailovich - artist
  • Gorshenev, Alexei Yurievich - musician, vocalist of the rock-group Kukryniksy

Рус  |   Eng  |   中文
Дальневосточный федеральный округ
Приволжский федеральный округ
Северо-Западный федеральный округ
Сибирский федеральный округ
Уральский федеральный округ
Центральный федеральный округ
Южный федеральный округ
 

Еврейская автономная область


Субъект Российской Федерации:
Еврейская автономная область

Федеральный округ: Дальневосточный федеральный округ

Население: 176 600 чел.


Описание

Еврейская автономная область образована 7 мая 1934 года.

Административный центр — город Биробиджан.

Граничит на юге с Китаем (по реке Амур), на западе — с Амурской областью, на востоке — с Хабаровским краем.

Население области — 176,6 тыс. чел. 

Административное деление — Облученский район, Смидовичский район, Биробиджанский район, Ленинский район, Октябрьский район.

История

28 марта 1928 года Президиум ЦИК СССР принял постановление «О закреплении за КомЗЕТом для нужд сплошного заселения трудящимися евреями свободных земель в приамурской полосе Дальневосточного края».

20 августа 1930 ЦИК РСФСР принял постановление «Об образовании в составе Дальневосточного края Биро-Биджанского национального района». Постановлением ВЦИКа от 7 мая 1934 г. Еврейский национальный район, основанный в 1930 г., получил статус Еврейской автономной области. В перспективе на базе автономной области предполагалось создать Еврейскую республику (как место компактного проживания евреев СССР), но этот план так и не был реализован.

После преобразования всех остальных автономных областей России в республики в начале 1990-х годов Еврейская АО осталась единственной автономной областью РФ.

От прочих национальных автономий в составе России (а ранее и всего СССР) Еврейская АО отличается уникальной историей; она создана в начале 1930-х годов как национально-территориальное образование для переселенцев, отправившихся туда уже в годы Советской власти, на территории, никогда ранее не бывшей местом компактного проживания этого народа.

Евреи-переселенцы, прибывшие в Приамурье в 1920—1930-е годы, и их потомки никогда не составляли большинства населения АО, а после масштабной репатриации в Израиль в 1970—1990-е годы стали очень небольшим меньшинством. Пика своей численности еврейское население АО достигло в 1937 г. — 20 тыс., после чего постоянно снижалось. Ныне в Израиле живет более 15 тысяч репатриантов из Еврейской автономной области, из них более 5 тысяч в городе Маалот, составляя около половины жителей города. Ежегодно в Израиле проводится всеизраильская встреча репатриантов из ЕАО.

В 2008 году ЕАО на этой встрече 25—27 июня представлял мэр Биробиджана А. Винников, директор Института комплексного анализа региональных проблем (Биробиджан) Ефим Фрисман и другие. Доля титульной нации постоянно уменьшается (1,2 % в 2002 г.), однако название и статус автономной области пока сохраняется. Существует проект присоединения ЕАО к Хабаровскому краю. Другое предложение — присоединение ЕАО к Амурской области с образованием Амурского края. Против упразднения ЕАО выступает еврейская общественность. Полпред президента в ДФО Виктор Ишаев считает объединение ЕАО с Хабаровским краем преждевременным.

Георграфическое положение

По своим природным и климатическим условиям область принадлежит к одному из благоприятных уголков Дальнего Востока России. Её территория представлена двумя типами рельефа — горным и равнинным.

Горные области — южная часть обширной Хингано-Буреинской горной системы, занимающая примерно половину всей площади. Равнинная часть, простирающаяся на юге и востоке, представляет западную окраину Средне-Амурской низменности.

Климат умеренный, муссонный. Зима малоснежная и холодная (средняя температура января от −21 °C на крайнем юге до −26 °C в горах), лето тёплое и влажное. Значительное влияние на климат оказывает рельеф местности. В течение года на равнине выпадает 450—500 мм осадков, причем около 75 процентов осадков выпадает в период с мая по сентябрь.

Главное богатство области — плодородные земли, разнообразные полезные ископаемые, реки Амур, Бира, Биджан и их притоки с разнообразной ихтиофауной, обширные леса. Из 1,7 млн га лесных угодий 160 тыс. га занято кедровымилесами, 249 тыс. га — елово-пихтовыми, 163 тыс. га — лиственничными. Запас древесины составляет 202 млн м³ (Государственный лесной реестр, 2009).

С юго-запада, юга и юго-востока на протяжении 584 км территория области омывается водами одной из величайших рек Евразии — Амура. Ширина русла у западных границ области (близ села Пашково) — 1,5 км, у восточных — 2,5 км. Амур покрыт льдом 5 месяцев — с конца ноября до двадцатых чисел апреля. Зимой толщина льда достигает 2 м, что позволяет осуществлять по реке грузовые и пассажирские перевозки. Навигация продолжается в среднем 180 дней.

К бассейну Амура принадлежит ряд крупных (длиной более 10 км) и 1146 малых (длиной менее 10 км) рек. Это Бира,Биджан, Биракан, Ин, Урми, Икура и другие. Общая протяжённость речной сети составляет 8 231 км. Верховья рек Бираи Биджан служат нерестилищем для дальневосточной кеты.

Промышленность

Область даёт 9% промышленной продукции Хабаровского края. Межрайонное значение имеют производство с.-х. машин и силовых трансформаторов (Биробиджан), цемента (Теплоозёрск), извести (Лондоко), деревообрабатывающая, в том числе мебельная, промышленность (Николаевка, Биробиджан), производство обуви, трикотажных, текстильно-швейных, чулочно-носочных изделий. Ведётся добыча олова.

К 1970 промышленное производство области увеличилось по сравнению с 1940 в 11 раз. Все крупнейшие предприятия области построены в послевоенные годы. Главный промышленный центр — г. Биробиджан.

Сельское хозяйство

Еврейская автономная область — овощекартофельная и молочно-мясная база Хабаровска и отчасти центральных и северных районов края. Кроме того, сельское хозяйство области специализируется на производстве сои, зерна и пчеловодстве. В небольших размерах развито рыболовство. Действуют два завода по разведению кеты и частиковый рыбхоз.

Транспорт

 Область имеет густую сеть транспортных путей. Ее основу составляют двухколейная электрифицированная.

Имеет выход в моря Тихого океана через Амурский водный путь. По ее территории проходит Транссибирская магистраль, которая обеспечивает наикратчайшие маршруты из Западной Европы и Ближнего Востока в страны Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона.

Транссибирская железнодорожная магистраль и Амурский водный путь.

Все населенные пункты связаны между собой и областным центром автомобильными, железнодорожными или речными судоходными путями.

Протяженность железных дорог общего пользования 530 км, важнейшие станции: Биробиджан, Волочаевка-2, Известковая, Облучье, Ин, Бира. В настоящее время идет реконструкция мостового перехода через реку Амур. Он соединит Еврейскую автономную область и город Хабаровск (административный центр Хабаровского края).

Большой объем грузовых и пассажирских перевозок выполняет автомобильный транспорт. Протяженность автомобильных дорог — 1,9 тыс. км, из них с твердым покрытием —1,6 тыс. км. Большое значение имеет автотрасса Хабаровск-Биробиджан-Облучье-Амурская область с паромной переправой через Амур.

В южных районах области развито речное судоходство. Судоходными являются реки Амур и Тунгуска. Протяженность речных путей — 600 км. Важнейшие речные порты расположены в селах Ленинское, Амурзет, Екатерино-Никольское, Нагибово, Пашково. Учитывая, что граница ЕАО по реке Амур совпадает с государственной границей России и Китая, в области открыто три контрольно-пропускных пункта: «Нижнеленинское», «Амурзет», «Пашково». Они выходят на китайские города Тунцзян, Миншань, Цзяинь и открыты для международного грузового и пассажирского сообщения. В летнее время действует речное и паромное сообщение, а в зимнее — автомобильное. Для международного грузового сообщения открыт также порт Покровка (Смидовичский район). Аэропорт «Желтый Яр» связывает Биробиджан с Хабаровском и отдаленными районными центрами.

Ведется его реконструкция и расширение, предусмотрено открытие международного авиационного сообщения Биробиджан-Цзямусы (Китай). Развитые транспортная сеть и необходимая инфраструктура (погранпереходы, таможенный комплекс) создают благоприятные условия для развития в области внешнеэкономической деятельности.

Виды туризма

  • Экологический
  • Лечебно-оздоровительный
  • Культурно-познавательный
  • Экскурсионный
  • Горнолыжный

Достопримечательности

  • «Баухаус» в Биробиджане
  • Площадь Ленина
  • Памятник Владимиру Ильичу Ленину
  • Памятник еврейскому писателю Шолом-Алейхему
  • Городской дворец культуры
  • Сквер советов
  • Площадь дружбы народов России и Китая
  • Памятник «Боевая и Трудовая Слава» Еврейской автономной области
  • Сквер Победы
  • Часовня во имя Державной иконы Божией Матери
  • Кинотеатр «Родина»
  • Музей современного искусства
  • Здание универмага по ул. Шолом-Алейхема
  • Здание бывшего гастронома
  • Городская набережная
  • Здание областного ЗАГСа
  • Областная филармония и Театральная площадь со свето-музыкальным фонтаном
  • Сопка Тихонькая
  • Дендрологический парк
  • Государственный природный заповедник «Бастак»
  • Рыбоводный завод в Теплом Озере

Знаменитые уроженцы

  • Головач, Сергей Михайлович — художник
  • Горшенёв, Алексей Юрьевич — музыкант, вокалист рок-группы Кукрыниксы

Телефоны для связи в экстренных случаях

Дежурные части

  • Дежурная часть УВД по ЕАО (42666) 6-2312
  • Дежурная часть УФСБ по ЕАО (42666) 2-2203
  • Дежурный военного комиссариата ЕАО (42666) 4-1479
  • Оперативный дежурный Главного управления МЧС России по ЕАО (42666) 4-1200

Телефоны доверия

  • Телефон доверия (42666) 2-0525
  • Телефон доверия налоговой инспекции (42666) 6-7906
  • Телефон доверия МЧС России по ЕАО (42666) 6-4313
  • Телефон доверия УВД по ЕАО (42666) 2-0302
  • Телефон доверия ОФМС России по ЕАО (42666) 4-5583
  • Телефон доверия ГИБДД УВД по ЕАО (42666) 4-6687

Приемные отделения лечебных учреждений

  • Приемное отделение детской больницы (42666) 6-3429
  • Приемное отделение областной больницы (42666) 2-3568
  • Травматологический пункт (42666) 2-3341

Территориальные органы МЧС России

Главное управление МЧС России по ЕАО

www.79.mchs.gov.ru

679016, г. Биробиджан ул. Ленина, 34 А