Рус  |   Eng  |   中文
Choose a type of tourism
to start using the map.
Choose a region of Russia to
start using the map.
Select a date of the events to
be displayed on the map.
Type of Tourism
Region
Tourist Attraction
Republics
Chechen Republic
Chuvash Republic
Kabardino-Balkarian Republic
Karachayevo-Circassian Republic
Komi Republic
Republic of Adygeya
Republic of Altai
Republic of Bashkortostan
Republic of Buryatia
Republic of Daghestan
Republic of Ingushetia
Republic of Kalmykia
Republic of Karelia
Republic of Khakassia
Republic of Mari El
Republic of Mordovia
Republic of North Ossetia — Alania
Republic of Sakha (Yakutia)
Republic of Tatarstan
Republic of Tuva
Udmurtian Republic
Autonomous Areas
Chukotka Autonomous Area
Khanty-Mansi Autonomous Area — Yugra
Nenets Autonomous Area
Yamal-Nenets Autonomous Area
Territories
Altai Territory
Kamchatka Territory
Khabarovsk Territory
Krasnodar Territory
Krasnoyarsk Territory
Perm Territory
Primorye Territory
Stavropol Territory
Trans-Baikal Territory
Regions
Amur Region
Arkhangelsk Region
Astrakhan Region
Belgorod Region
Bryansk Region
Chelyabinsk Region
Irkutsk Region
Ivanovo Region
Jewish Autonomous Region
Kaliningrad Region
Kaluga Region
Kemerovo Region
Kirov Region
Kostroma Region
Kurgan Region
Kursk Region
Leningrad Region
Lipetsk Region
Magadan Region
Moscow Region
Murmansk Region
Nizhny Novgorod Region
Novgorod Region
Novosibirsk Region
Omsk Region
Orel Region
Orenburg Region
Penza Region
Pskov Region
Rostov Region
Ryazan Region
Sakhalin Region
Samara Region
Saratov Region
Smolensk Region
Sverdlovsk Region
Tambov Region
Tomsk Region
Tula Region
Tver Region
Tyumen Region
Ulyanovsk Region
Vladimir Region
Volgograd Region
Vologda Region
Voronezh Region
Yaroslavl Region
Cities
of Federal Importance
Moscow
Saint Petersburg
 

Mamayev Kurgan

Mamaev KurganMamaev KurganMamaev KurganMamaev Kurgan

Architectural Significant Sites

Address: 400005, Russia, Volgograd Region, Volgograd, ulitsa Marshal V. Chuikova, 7

Phone: (8442) 23-7272
E-mail: mamayevhill@volgadmin.ru

http://www.mamayevhill.volgadmin.ru

Historical Inquiry

Mamayev Kurgan is a hill in the centre of Volgograd.

This place is famous for the fact that during the Second World War the Kurgan was a strategically important facility, which was severely fought for.

In the sixties of the twentieth century a memorial complex in memory of soldiers who heroically defended Stalingrad was erected on the highest point of the kurgan.

The name”Mamayev” was given to the barrow in the days of the Golden Horde. Tatar Khan Mamay, actual ruler of the Golden Horde, settled in the territory of the present-day Volgograd, making the ancient city his residence known as ”Sarai-Berke”. At the highest point of elevation Khan ordered to arrange a constant watch, as tens of kilometers of vicinage were easily visible from there. Every night the best warriors of Khan were sent to the kurgan. They were to notify the army in case of attack. Nevertheless, no historically significant events took place neither on the kurgan nor in the vicinity at the time of the Golden Horde. 

The Mamayev Kurgan entered the history much later, during the Second World War. From the top of the hill the whole city of Volgograd (at that time it was called Stalingrad), the Volga River and the interfluve area were easily visible; therefore the Kurgan was of great importance for military tactics. The party which had the Kurgan could significantly influence the outcome of a battle. Thus, during the Battle of Stalingrad, the Kurgan was recaptured several times.  

Many Russian soldiers died defending the approaches to the Mamayev Kurgan.

Russian commanders called the Mamayev Kurgan the "Height 102.0" because of the fact that the height of the Kurgan above the sea level was exactly one hundred and two meters. This name is preserved to this day, and it can be often found in historical documents.

Defense of Stalingrad and the main strategic object has been entrusted to sixty-second army under the command of the General Chuikov. Entries in military diaries evidenced on the brutal battles for control of the height 102 which lasted exactly 135 days. During this time the Kurgan was repeatedly captured by the Russians and the Germans.

On September 14, 1942, German troops managed to capture the "Height 102.0" and central railway station (located on the north side near the foot of the Kurgan). But two days later the 13th Rifle Division managed to push back the enemy and take over the control of the height. In the end of September the German troops captured the Mamayev Kurgan again, this time for a longer period. Eventually, the height was occupied by the Russian troops in January, 1943.

Immediately after the Battle of Stalingrad it was decided to create a grandiose monument in memory of fallen soldiers, the defenders of Stalingrad.

Architect I.B.Belopolskiy and sculptor E.V.Vuchetich set about the creation of the monument. The plan was to create a sculpture of great height, thus to calculate the stability of structures they needed help of Doctor of Engineering Science N.V.Nikitin, who was engaged in developing the rigidity of the Ostankino Tower in due time.

In the late fifties of the twentieth century the monument projects were completed and approved. The construction began in spring, 1959. It took eight years to finish the magnificent monument.

The ceremonial opening took place on October 15, 1967; Leonid Brezhnev himself was present at the ceremony. The central piece of the monument called “To Heroes of the Battle of Stalingrad” represent a woman's figure “Motherland” which firmly squeezes a sword in her lifted hand. The whole monument is called “Motherland is calling” since a woman with a sword encourages the Russian people to fight against the enemy. The figure is made up of concrete blocks, and weighs about 7,900 tons. The sword is made of stainless steel, and weighs fourteen tons. The Height of the woman figure is fifty-two meters, and if we add to this the height of the sword, we will get quite an impressive number - eighty-five meters. Thus, it is one of the highest monuments in the world. The whole structure is mounted on a two-meter concrete slab. To stabilize the structure and prevent its "draft", the plate was put on a strong foundation, which goes sixteen meters under the ground level.

At the foot of the Mamayev Kurgan there is ”Square of Sorrow”. A winding route leads from the square to the monument. On both sides of the terraced road (total 200 steps as the number of days during which the battle of Stalingrad lasted) the fallen soldiers were buried.

At this point more than 34 thousand soldiers were buried in the Kurgan.

On the slopes of the Mamayev Kurgan the remains of the Heroes of the Soviet Union, who died in the Battle of Stalingrad, rest; granite slabs are placed on their graves. Thus, the total number of graves is 34,540.

Available for visiting and viewing by tourists.

The introductory track, high relief “the Memory of generations”, the Alley of Lombardy poplars, the square of those who “fought to death“, the walls of the ruins, the Heroes’ Square, the Alleys of Military Glory, Square of Sorrow, the Main monuments, the Military Memorial Cemetery, Authors of the monument, state cultural institutions.

You will a have a possibility to take a walk from the foot of the Mamayev Kurgan to the sculpture "Motherland is calling" located on the top of it, to approach any of the sites, read the information about it. Visiting Mamayev Kurgan you will learn many interesting things about the history of the great battles and deeds of the heroic defenders of Stalingrad.

Status

Available for visiting and viewing by tourists.

Description

The introductory track, high relief “the Memory of generations”, the Alley of Lombardy poplars, the square of those who “fought to the death“, the walls of the ruin, the Heroes’ Square, the Alleys of Military Glory, Square of Sorrow, the Main monuments, the Military Memorial Cemetery, Authors of the monument, state cultural institutions.

Welcome to See

You will a have a possibility to take a walk from the foot of the Mamayev Kurgan to the sculpture "Motherland is calling" located on the top of it, to approach any of the sites, read the information about it. Visiting Mamayev Kurgan you will learn many interesting things about the history of the great battles and deeds of the heroic defenders of Stalingrad.

Working Time

Daily

Cost of Visiting

Free

Рус  |   Eng  |   中文
Выберите вид туризма
для работы с картой.
Выберите регион для
работы с картой.
Выберите дату событий,
чтобы показать их на карте.
Вид туризма
Регион
Объекты туристической индустрии
Республики
Кабардино-Балкарская Республика
Карачаево-Черкесская Республика
Республика Адыгея (Адыгея)
Республика Алтай
Республика Башкортостан
Республика Бурятия
Республика Дагестан
Республика Ингушетия
Республика Калмыкия
Республика Карелия
Республика Коми
Республика Марий Эл
Республика Мордовия
Республика Саха (Якутия)
Республика Северная Осетия — Алания
Республика Татарстан (Татарстан)
Республика Тыва
Республика Хакасия
Удмуртская Республика
Чеченская Республика
Чувашская Республика — Чувашия
Автономные округа
Ненецкий автономный округ
Ханты-Мансийский автономный округ — Югра
Чукотский автономный округ
Ямало-Ненецкий автономный округ
Края
Алтайский край
Забайкальский край
Камчатский край
Краснодарский край
Красноярский край
Пермский край
Приморский край
Ставропольский край
Хабаровский край
Области
Амурская область
Архангельская область
Астраханская область
Белгородская область
Брянская область
Владимирская область
Волгоградская область
Вологодская область
Воронежская область
Еврейская автономная область
Ивановская область
Иркутская область
Калининградская область
Калужская область
Кемеровская область
Кировская область
Костромская область
Курганская область
Курская область
Ленинградская область
Липецкая область
Магаданская область
Московская область
Мурманская область
Нижегородская область
Новгородская область
Новосибирская область
Омская область
Оренбургская область
Орловская область
Пензенская область
Псковская область
Ростовская область
Рязанская область
Самарская область
Саратовская область
Сахалинская область
Свердловская область
Смоленская область
Тамбовская область
Тверская область
Томская область
Тульская область
Тюменская область
Ульяновская область
Челябинская область
Ярославская область
Города
федерального значения
Город Москва
Город Санкт-Петербург
 

Мамаев курган

Мамаев курганМамаев курганМамаев курганМамаев курган

Памятники архитектуры

Адрес: 400005, Россия, Волгоградская область, г. Волгоград, ул. им. Маршала В.И. Чуйкова, д. 47

Телефон: (8442) 23-7272
E-mail: mamayevhill@volgadmin.ru

http://www.mamayevhill.volgadmin.ru

Историческая справка

Мамаев курган — возвышенность в самом центре Волгограда. Это место знаменито тем, что во время Второй Мировой войны курган являлся стратегически важным объектом, за который шли жестокие бои.

В шестидесятых годах двадцатого столетия на самой высокой точке кургана был поставлен целый мемориальный ансамбль в память воинам, героически защищавшим Сталинград.

Название «Мамаев» курган получил еще во времена Золотой Орды. Татарский хан Мамай, фактический правитель Золотой орды расположился на территории современного Волгограда, сделав древний город своей резиденцией, получившей название «Сарай-Берке». На самой высокой точке возвышенности хан приказал устроить постоянный дозор, так как оттуда хорошо просматривались окрестности на десятки километров. Каждую ночь на курган посылались лучшие воины хана, которые должны были оповестить армию в случае нападения. Но ничего исторически значимого не происходило на кургане ни в его окрестностях во времена Золотой Орды. 

В история Мамаев курган вошел гораздо позже, во время Второй Мировой войны. С вершины возвышенности хорошо просматривается весь Волгоград (в то время он назывался Сталинградом), река Волга и междуречье, поэтому имел огромное значение для выстраивания военной тактики. От того, кто владеет этим курганом, мог зависеть итог сражений. Таким образом, во время Сталинградской битвы, курган несколько раз переходил от одной стороны к другой.

Многие русские воины погибли, защищая подступы к Мамаеву кургану.

У русских полководцев Мамаев курган именовался как «Высота 102,0» из-за того, что высота кургана над уровнем моря составляет ровно сто два метра. Это название сохранилось и до сегодняшнего дня, его нередко можно встретить в исторических документах.

Оборона Сталинграда и главного стратегического объекта была доверена шестьдесят второй армии под командованием генерала Чуйкова. Записи в военных дневниках свидетельствуют о том, что жестокие бои за господство над высотой 102 длились ровно 135 суток. За это время курган неоднократно переходил от русских к немцам, а потом снова возвращался к русским.

14 сентября 1942 года немецкие войска смогли захватить «сто вторую высоту» и центральный железнодорожный вокзал (он расположен на северной стороне недалеко от основания кургана). Но через двое суток тринадцатая стрелковая дивизия смогла отодвинуть противника и взять господство над высотой. В конце сентября немецкие войска снова овладели Мамаевым курганом, на этот раз на более долгий срок. Окончательно высота была занята русскими войсками в январе 1943 года.

Сразу после окончания Сталинградской битвы было принято решение о создании грандиозного монумента в память павшим воинам-защитникам Сталинграда.

За создание проекта памятника взялись архитектор Я. Б. Белопольский и скульптор Е. В. Вучетич. Планировалось создать скульптуру огромной высоты, поэтому для расчетов устойчивости конструкции понадобилась помощь доктора технических наук Н. В. Никитина, который в свое время занимался устойчивостью телебашни в Останкино.

В конце пятидесятых годов двадцатого века проекты памятника были завершены и одобрены. Строительство началось весной 1959 года. Только через восемь лет величественный монумент был готов.

Торжественное открытие состоялось 15 октября 1967 года, на церемонии присутствовал сам Леонид Ильич Брежнев. Центральный фрагмент монумента под названием «Героям Сталинградской битвы» занимает фигура женщины «Родина — мать», которая крепко сжимает в руке поднятый вверх меч. Целиком монумент носит название «Родина — мать зовет», так как женщина с мечом, как бы призывает весь русский народ к бою с врагом. Фигура собрана из железобетонных блоков, ее масса составляет примерно 7 900 тонн. Меч сделан из нержавеющей стали, и весит четырнадцать тонн. Высота женщины пятьдесят два метра, а если прибавить к этому числу высоты меча, то получится весьма внушительная сумма — восемьдесят пять метров. Таким образом, это один из самых высоких памятников в мире. Вся конструкция поставлена на двухметровую бетонную плиту. Для придания устойчивости конструкции и предотвращения ее «осадка», плиту положили на мощный фундамент, который уходит под землю на шестнадцать метров.

У подножия Мамаева кургана расположена «площадь Скорби». От площади к монументу ведет извилистый подъем. По обеим сторонам от ступенчатой дороги (всего 200 ступеней, по числу дней — продолжительности битвы за Сталинград) были захоронены останки погибших воинов.

На данный момент в кургане похоронены более 34 тысяч солдат.

На склонах Мамаева кургана так же находятся останки Героев Советского Союза, погибших в ходе Сталинградской битвы, на их могилах установлены гранитные плиты. Таким образом, общее число захоронений составляет 34 540.

Состояние

Доступен для посещения и просмотра туристами.

Описание

Вводная композиция-горельеф «Память поколений», Аллея пирамидальных тополей, площадь «Стоявших насмерть», Стены руины, площадь Героев, З аллеи Воинской славы, Площадь Скорби, Главный монумент, Воинское мемориальное кладбище, Авторский коллектив памятника-ансамбля, Государственное учреждения культуры.

Можно посмотреть

Вы сможете прогуляться от подножия Мамаева кургана до скульптуры «Родина — мать зовёт!» на его вершине, подойти к любому из памятников, прочитать информацию о нём. Посетив Мамаев курган, Вы узнаете много интересного об истории великого сражения и подвигах героических защитников Сталинграда.

Время работы

ежедневно.

Стоимость посещения

бесплатно.